Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sharon Speedway

Sharon victory is Blair's third in a row on tour

May 27, 2012, 12:42 pm
By Mike Leone
Fastrak Northeast

HARTFORD, Ohio (May 26) — Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., opened Sharon Speedway’s Bill Emig Memorial Wild Card Weekend with his third Fastrak Northeast victory in a row and fourth of the season. The three-time tour champion scored a $1,600 clean sweep by winning his heat, the dash and main event.

"I really struggle here; this feels great to be able to get a big win at Sharon," the 22-year-old winner said. "We won the Gary Knollinger Memorial race last year, but the planets or something were aligned perfect that night. You could race on the track tonight.”

Blair jumped into the lead on the first, but rival Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., went under him in turn four on the second lap to take control. He led through lap 19 before Blair regained the lead with a high-side pass and went on to win the 25-lapper.

"It was a little rough on the bottom, but sometimes you have to give and take a little bit,” Blair said. "I was right in the middle all night long, but you start on the front row and you don't know any different so you run where you've run all night then (Mike Pegher) goes blowing on by you on the bottom so I knew I had to move down.”

Blair and Pegher made contact on lap 21, and Pegher retired with a flat tire a lap later. Dan Angelicchio ended up getting second while Joe Martin, Will Thomas III and Steve Dixon rounded out the top five.

The Sweeney Chevrolet-sponsored tour stays at Sharon on Sunday to conclude the weekend with another $1,500-to-win event as Blair goes for his fourth straight series victory.

Fastrak Northeast @ Sharon: (1) Max Blair, (2) Dan Angelicchio, (3) Joe Martin, (4) Will Thomas III, (5) Steve Dixon, (6) John Over, (7) John Garvin Jr., (8) Bobby Whitlings, (9) Josh Double, (10) Chad Ruhlman, (11) Matt Latta, (12) Butch Lambert, (13) Ryan Montgomery, (14) Brian Booher, (15) Michael Mitchell, (16) Lauren Longbrake, (17) Jamie Brown, (18) Chad Wright, (19) Mike Pegher Jr., (20) Nolan Dalton, (21) Shane Bambarger, (22) Andrew Satterlee, (23) Clay Ruffo, (24) Billy Henry Jr., (25) Shane Weaver. Heat race winners (among 34 cars): Henry, Satterlee, Blair, Pegher. Dash winner: Blair. Consolation winners: Dalton, Garvin. Provisional starter: Montgomery. Non-qualifiers’ race winner: Junior Peters.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728