Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

311 Motor Speedway

Ferguson rebounds for $2,000 victory at 311

April 16, 2012, 6:53 am
From series reports

MADISON, N.C. (April 14) — Rebounding after a tangle with a lapped car cost him a chance to win the previous night, Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., grabbed a $2,000 victory on the Fastrak City Chevrolet Tour on Saturday at 311 Speedway.

Ferguson overtook Brandon Umberger of Rural Retreat, Va., on the 22nd lap, then turned away a charge from Friday's Cleveland County Speedway winner David Smith of Inman, S.C.

“Man, our car was just awesome. I tried to take care of the tires and pick the time to make a run and fortunately it fell our way," said Ferguson, who climbed atop his Mike Mercer-owned Barry Wright Race Car to celebrate in victory lane. “We really want to thank Mike Mercer and his family for allowing me to drive this car. Mike has an awesome piece and it was just so good tonight. We have been fast everywhere that we have raced it but we have just been having bad luck. But Mike understands that and has allowed us to keep driving the car."

Smith settled for second with Umberger third ahead of fellow Rural Retreat driver Kenny Peeples Jr. Brian Connor of Martinez Ga., who held the second spot early in the feature, rounded out the top five in the 40-lapper.

The most serious accident came on the first start attempt and involved several cars, eliminating Rob Farve and Noel Tucker. Ron Parker, Lee Cooper and Richard Clew were among others involved.

Next up for Fastrak Southeast is a $2,000-to-win event at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn., on April 21.

Fastrak @ 311: (1) Chris Ferguson, (2) David Smith, (3) Brandon Umberger, (4) Kenny Peeples Jr., (5) Brian Connor, (6) Mitchell Coble, (7) Lee Cooper, (8) Barry Arnold, (9) Spencer Apple, (10) Kevin Wilson, (11) Kenny Van Deveer, (12) Ron Parker, (13) Chris Knight, (14) Jordan Dill, (15) Chase McCormick, (16) Robbie Stevens, (17) Dale Timms, (18) Bill Tesh, (19) T.K. Hicks, (20) Chad Hale, (21) Dewayne Joyce, (22) Richard Clew, (23) Noel Tucker, (24) Rob Farve. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Smith, 17.822 seconds.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728