Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Woodhull Raceway

Dixon outduels Blair for victory at Woodhull

August 22, 2010, 11:49 am
From series reports

WOODHULL, N.Y. (Aug. 21) — Steve Dixon of Smethport, Pa., outgunned series points leader Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., on a late-race restart to capture a Fastrak Northeast victory for touring Crate Late Models on Saturday at Woodhull Raceway. Dixon earned $2,000 for the first-ever series event in New York, which concluded at 8:15 p.m. as the track hurried to beat inclement weather.

"The restarts were the key, said Dixon, who led 19 of 25 laps. "Max got one up on me and ran me up. If he wants to do that I can race that way too and ran him up. It was a lot of fun and was getting exciting, but that's what it's all about. This is a tricky track and can be really fast."

Tim Schram led the first four laps before Josh Holtgraver took a turn up front at the third-mile oval, going from fourth to first in a single lap. But Dixon overtook Holtgraver on the sixth lap and built a straightaway lead before Blair worked his way into second.

On a lap-19 double-file restart, Blair used his inside groove to take the lead from Dixon, but on a restart a lap later, Dixon used the same inside groove to take the lead. On the final restart at lap 21, Blair hopped the turn-two cushion and Dixon held on the rest of the way.

Holtgraver finished third followed by Marshall Shunk and 73-year-old Ron Baker, who advanced from his ninth starting spot.

Fastrak Northeast competitors return to action Sept. 3 at Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, W.Va., for a $3,000-to-win event on Black Diamond weekend.

Fastrak Northeast @ Woodhull: (1) Steve Dixon, (2) Max Blair, (3) Josh Holtgraver, (4) Marshall Shunk, (5) Ron Baker, (6) John Haggerty, (7) Gary Knollinger, (8) Bob Kish, (9) Bud Watson, (10) Damian Bidwell, (11) Bob Craig, (12) Garrett Mott, (13) Tim Schram, (14) Mike Pegher Jr., (15) Jason Genco, (16) Justin Tatlow, (17) Ike Fanton, (18) Jim Frank, (19) Butch Lambert, (20) Curt Van Pelt. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Knollinger, Blair.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728