Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/02/2023 14:23:23

Sponsor 743
May 24
Rome Speedway,
Rome, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $6,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated May 26, 7:41 am)
Roberts rules Rome while McIntosh wins title
  1. Casey Roberts
  2. Jake Knowles
  3. Austin Smith
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Clint Smith
  6. Billy Ogle Jr.
  7. Jody Knowles
  8. Steven Roberts
  9. Dale Thurman
  10. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  11. David Payne
  12. Derrick Rainey
  13. Matthew Turner
  14. Joe Gorby
  15. Jason Croft
  16. Matt Dooley
  17. Jim Manka
  18. Dillon Tidmore
  19. Ryan Gifford
  20. Dylan Ames
  21. Bo Eaton
  22. Matt Larson
presented by
Kevin Prater/praterphoto.com
Casey Roberts collected $6,000 for his victory in the tour's points finale.
What won the race: Second-starting Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., overtook polesitter Austin Smith of Cedartown, Ga., for a $6,000 victory in the Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals points finale at Rome Speedway. Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., clinched the series championship with his fourth-place finish.
Key notes: Roberts has three career Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals victories. His previous came April 25 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. ... The race was slowed by four cautions. ... A yellow flew on the first lap for a tangle involving multiple cars at the rear of the field. … Matt Larson spun to draw a caution on lap six. … A stoppage came on lap nine for an incident involving Dillon Tidmore and Dylan Ames. … Ivedent Lloyd Jr. drew the final caution on lap 46 with a flat tire. … Ryan Gifford piloted the No. 17m normally driven by Dale McDowell. ... McIntosh won the first two legs of the Spring Nationals tripleheader at Boyd's and Dixie Speedways on Friday and Saturday.
On the move: Steven Roberts and Dale Thurman each improved five positions, finishing eighth and ninth respectively.
Winner's sponsors: Roberts's Jim and Ann Cushman-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Custom Race Engine and carries sponsorship from Cushman Paint & Body, Hoosier Racing Tire, M&S Concrete, Schaeffer Oil, Starrette Trucking and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: McIntosh became the tour's third different champion in as many years, edging Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn. ... The tour has a pair of rescheduled non-points races on July 5 at Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway and Sept. 3 at 201 Speedway in Sitka, Ky.
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Austin Smith
Time: 14.710 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Smith
Dash winner: Austin Smith
Consolation race winners: Jake Knowles, Clint Smith
Next series race: July 5, Swainsboro Raceway (Swainsboro, GA) $6,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: A. Smith, C. Roberts
Row 2: Ogle, McIntosh
Row 3: Ja. Knowles, C. Smith
Row 4: Croft, Lloyd
Row 5: Jo. Knowles, Payne
Row 6: Larson, Rainey
Row 7: S. Roberts, Thurman
Row 8: Tidmore, Gifford
Row 9: Dooley, Manka
Row 10: Gorby, Turner
Row 11: Ames, Eaton

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information