Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 05:03:49

Sponsor 743
April 19
34 Raceway,
West Burlington, IA
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series (Slocum 50) - $10,555
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 20, 12:53 pm)
Pierce takes Slocum 50 for fifth straight victory
Slocum 50
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Brandon Sheppard
  4. Brian Birkhofer
  5. Jimmy Mars
  6. Ryan Gustin
  7. Ryan Unzicker
  8. Jesse Stovall
  9. Tony Jackson Jr.
  10. Will Vaught
  11. Rodney Sanders
  12. A.J. Diemel
  13. Jason Riggs
  14. Kevin Weaver
  15. Terry Phillips
  16. Brian Shirley
  17. Spencer Diercks
  18. Jason Utter
  19. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  20. Lance Matthees
  21. Justin Asplin
  22. Chris Simpson
  23. Chad Simpson
  24. Shannon Babb
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Bobby Pierce (32) keeps Jason Feger (25) in check at 34 Raceway.
What won the race: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., overtook Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, for the lead on the fourth lap of the Slocum 50 and never looked back en route to scoring one of the biggest victories of his young career. Pierce notched his fifth straight victory and seventh of the season.
Quotable: "I was just a little too tight to be able to enter three like I needed to," said runner-up Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who offered a few high-side challenges to Pierce in the race's middle stages. "I just kept over-driving trying to catch him and needed to run my own race."
Key notes: Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., back in his family-owned car, fought hard to finish third; he was running in the spot early when he made contact with the wall and lost several positions. ... Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., was running fifth with less than 20 laps remaining when he got into the wall between turns three and four to bring out a caution. ... Utter was part of a lap-13 caution flag that forced him to the rear of the field; he retired shortly thereafter. ... The race offered the richest first-place prize in track history and boasted a total purse of over $40,000. ... Along with the Corn Belt Clash, the event was also sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series and Sunoco American Late Model Series West. ... The Budweiser-sponsored event honored the memory of late racer Brent Slocum, who was killed in an accident in the 34 Raceway pit area. ... The "555" in the purse honors Slocum's No. 5.
On the move: Homestate driver Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, advanced from 10th to finish fourth; after needing consolation races to qualify for the main event, Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, and Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., were also among the feature's biggest movers.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce drives a Bob Pierce Race Car with a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from Champion Spark Plugs, M&M Painting and Construction, Murphy Trucking, Petersen Aluminum and the Pierce Posse.
Car count: 46
Fast qualifier: Justin Asplin
Polesitter: Jason Utter
Dash winner: Jason Utter
Heat race winners: Jason Utter, Brandon Sheppard, Jason Feger, Bobby Pierce, Brian Shirley
Consolation race winners: Chris Simpson, Ryan Gustin
Provisional starters: Chad Simpson, Jason Riggs
Next series race: April 26, Deer Creek Speedway (Spring Valley, MN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information