Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 05:55:15

Sponsor 743
April 19
Florence Speedway,
Union, KY
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Spring 50) - $5,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated April 20, 12:39 pm)
Lanigan holds off Owens, wins Florence Spring 50
Spring 50
  1. Darrell Lanigan
  2. Jimmy Owens
  3. Gregg Satterlee
  4. Dustin Linville
  5. Jeff Babcock
  6. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  7. Duane Chamberlain
  8. Brad Neat
  9. Donald McIntosh
  10. Billy Ogle Jr.
  11. Eric Wells
  12. Rod Conley
  13. Robby Hensley
  14. Stephen Breeding
  15. Kenny Collins
  16. Nick Latham
  17. David Payne
  18. John Gill
  19. Michael Chilton
  20. Skylar Marlar
  21. Jesse Lay
  22. Stacy Boles
  23. Steve Casebolt
  24. Greg Johnson
presented by
Jeremey Rhoades
Darrell Lanigan (29) works on fellow Club 29 driver Jimmy Owens (20).
What won the race: Hometown driver Darrell Lanigan held off a last-lap charge from fellow front-row starter Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., to collect his first Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals victory and a $5,000 payday.
Key notes: With the top two cars setting a torrid pace and pulling away, a caution flew for series regular Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky., on lap 47 and bunched up the field for the final three laps; only five cars remained on the lead lap. ... After leading early but giving way to Lanigan in lapped traffic on lap 16, Owens pulled outside of the leader down the backstretch on the final lap; Lanigan used low-side momentum to slide up the track and hold off Owens at the finish line. ... Lanigan earned his first win at Florence since April 21, 2012, and his sixth there over the past 10 seasons. ... Indiana, Pa., native Gregg Satterlee rounded out the podium in a rare trip to the King family's half-mile oval. ... Jesse Lay brought out the race's only other caution. ... Tony Brewer of Walton, Ky., won the Crate Late Model event. ... Florence capped a three-race Bluegrass weekend for the Ray Cook-promoted series with its first-ever Spring Nationals event. ... The race inherited the Spring 50 name after two previous attempts to run the special event were wiped out by inclement weather.
Winner's sponsors: Lanigan debuted a new Club 29 Race Car powered by a Cornett Racing Engine with sponsorship from Gotta Race, Keyser Manufacturing, Performance Rod & Custom and X-treme Graphics.
Points chase: Series points leader Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., finished 10th.
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Jimmy Owens
Time: 15.905 seconds
Polesitter: Darrell Lanigan
Dash winner: Darrell Lanigan
Heat race winners: Brad Neat, Dustin Linville, John Gill, Eric Wells
Consolation race winners: Greg Johnson
Provisional starters: David Payne, Kenny Collins
Next series race: May 8, Duck River Raceway Park (Wheel, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728