Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 06:45:35

Sponsor 743
May 2
ArkLaTex Speedway,
Vivian, LA
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 3, 6:11 pm)
Culp captures $2,000 ArkLaTex victory
  1. Timothy Culp
  2. Kyle Cummings
  3. Garrett Alberson
  4. Shannon Scott
  5. Kyle Beard
  6. Clay Fisher
  7. Hunter Rasdon
  8. Jack Sullivan
  9. Allen Murray
  10. Robert Baker
  11. Chandler Petty
  12. Jon Mitchell
  13. B.J. Robinson
  14. Ross Camponovo
  15. Jeff Chanler
  16. Tommy Surrett
  17. Lee Davis
  18. Austin Theiss
  19. Kyle Pleasant
  20. Brandon Smith
presented by
Tommy Best/Best Photography
Timothy Culp gets rolling before his Comp Cams win in Vivian, La.
What won the race: Returning to the track where he honed his driving skills as a rookie, second-starting Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., led the 35-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series feature from flag-to-flag for his first tour win of 2015 and the third of his career. He turned back a late challenge from Kyle Cummings of Sibley, La., to secure the $2,000 payday.
Key notes: Culp, who earned one of the biggest victories of his young career last year at ArkLaTex when he captured the track's Pelican 100, recorded his second win of 2015. His previous score came in SUPR action on April 11 at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark. ... Garrett Alberson started from the pole position in the feature after accumulating the most passing points in qualifying but was outgunned for the lead at the initial green flag by Culp. The transplanted New Mexican lost second to Cummings midway through the race and finished third. ... ArkLaTex hosted the finale of a two-race weekend that opened the tour's season after weather scuttled several races. ... The track also hosted its first Late Model event of the season after the Pelican 100 and a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series stop fell victim to lingering wintry weather.
On the move: Shannon Scott of Henryetta, Okla., earned hard-charger honors by advancing from the eighth starting spot to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Culp's Pierce Race Car is powered by a Kuntz & Co. engine and sponsored by Bennings Heat & Air, Carrier, Culp's Automotive, MSR Mafia, Velocita, Allstar Performance, BulletProof Tees, Brian Craighead Designs and Schaeffer's Racing Oil.
Points chase: The race was part of the tour's season-opening weekend; Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., is the two-time and reigning series champion.
Car count: 33
Polesitter: Garrett Alberson
Heat race winners: Garrett Alberson, Timothy Culp, Kyle Cummings, Lee Davis
Consolation race winners: Jon Mitchell, B.J. Robinson
Next series race: May 8, Greenville Speedway (Greenville, MS) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information