Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 07:52:44

Sponsor 743
April 18
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Spring Thaw) - $6,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated April 19, 5:59 am)
Cook leads flag-to-flag for Bulls Gap glory
Spring Thaw
  1. Ray Cook
  2. Billy Ogle Jr.
  3. Donald McIntosh
  4. Vic Hill
  5. Stacy Boles
  6. Dale McDowell
  7. Doug Sanders
  8. Chris Ferguson
  9. Mark Douglas
  10. Aaron Ridley
  11. Ben Watkins
  12. Tim Allen
  13. Ryan King
  14. Kenny Collins
  15. Kevin Wilson
  16. Steve Smith
  17. Anthony Sanders
  18. Dennis Franklin
  19. Chad Ogle
  20. David Payne
  21. Bobby Mays
  22. Riley Hickman
  23. Mack McCarter
  24. Mark Vineyard
  25. Kyle Pierce
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Ray Cook led all 50 laps for a $6,000 victory at Bulls Gap.
What won the race: Front-row starter Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., got the jump and led all 50 laps for a $6,000 payday and his first Carolina Clash victory since 2011. Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., and Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., dueled to round out the podium in a race that saw intense battles behind the leader.
Key notes: Ogle and McIntosh took stabs at toppling Cook, but neither got the job done. ... With Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals action in Georgia rained out, several drivers — including all three podium finishers — were able to compete up north at Volunteer. ... The racing program was hurried along because of approaching rain. ... The feature's first caution flag flew on the fourth circuit for Mack McCarter. ... David Payne brought out a lap-20 yellow flag. ... Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., won the Limited Late Model feature. ... The tour made the second of five scheduled visits to the 4/10-mile oval. ... Chad Ogle of Sevierville, Tenn., won the previous visit on April 4. He ran as high as second early on Saturday, but ultimately retired. ... The series will return on May 23, Aug. 8 and Sept. 12.
On the move: After slapping the wall while qualifying and burying himself in a consolation race, Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., recovered by rallying from 18th to sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Cook's No. 53 Capital Race Car has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by American Racer South, A+ Moving & Storage, Collins Signs, Integra Shocks, K&N Performance Filters, Old Man's Garage, Performance Rod & Custom, Schaeffer's Racing Oil, Tommy Pope Construction and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Through April 18, Doug Sanders has 358 points and a two-point edge over Ben Watkins (356 points). Kevin Wilson (306), Chris Ferguson (291) and Kyle Pierce (256) complete the top five.
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Donald McIntosh
Time: 12.722 seconds
Polesitter: Donald McIntosh
Consolation race winners: Riley Hickman, Doug Sanders
Provisional starters: Anthony Sanders, Kevin Wilson, Bobby Mays
Next series race: April 25, Wythe Raceway (Rural Retreat, VA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information