Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 05:49:52

Sponsor 743
April 11
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Spring Nationals) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 12, 4:45 pm)
Landers dominates for first MLRA victory
Spring Nationals
  1. Jared Landers
  2. Will Vaught
  3. Jason Utter
  4. Jack Sullivan
  5. Jesse Stovall
  6. Jeremy Payne
  7. Tony Jackson Jr.
  8. Ryan Gustin
  9. Brad Looney
  10. Chad Simpson
  11. Tommy Weder Jr.
  12. R.C. Whitwell
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. Terry Phillips
  15. Bill Leighton Jr.
  16. Jake O'Neil
  17. Kyle Beard
  18. Austin Siebert
  19. Shannon Scott
  20. Dustin Walker
  21. Scott Lewis
  22. Jason O'Brien
  23. Tad Pospisil
  24. Matt Johnson
  25. Wendell Wallace
  26. Billy Moyer
presented by
Todd Boyd
Jared Landers emerges after his dominating victory at Wheatland.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps from his pole position, Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark., cruised to a $3,000 victory by a half-track margin in the MLRA's Spring Nationals finale at Lucas Oil Speedway. The regular on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series picked up his first career triumph on the national tour's sister series and first at the racetrack.
Quotable: "Tonight we had nowhere to go but backwards, so I had to stay out there. The race track actually turned around from last night. I think they've got something to work with now. It's gonna be a good race for the Show-Me (100 on Memorial Day weekend)."
Key notes: Landers lapped all but 11 competitors to win for the the first time in over two years. His last triumph came in the Southern All-Star Series's March Madness event on March 3, 2013, at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C. ... Runner-up Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., took second from Jack Sullivan with five laps remaining. ... Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., started outside the front row and battled with Sullivan for second early, but slipped out of contention. ... The feature ran caution-free. ... Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, who notched a $2,000 victory in Friday's portion of the event, closed the weekend with an eighth-place finish. ... Drivers released purple balloons before the main event in honor of Autism Awareness Month.
On the move: Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, started seventh and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Landers drives a Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car with a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Productions Services, Bad Boy Mowers, Big Dog Motorsports, Burger Fusion, ASC Warranty and Double L Motorsports.
Points chase: Stormy Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., entered the weekend leading the series points.
Car count: 47
Polesitter: Jared Landers
Heat race winners: Will Vaught, Jared Landers, Jeremy Payne, Tony Jackson Jr., Tommy Weder Jr.
Consolation race winners: Bill Leighton Jr., Dave Eckrich
Provisional starters: Scott Lewis, Jason O'Brien
Next series race: May 7, Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information