Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 09:04:08

Sponsor 743
April 17
201 Speedway,
Sitka, KY
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Johnny Salyer Memorial) - $4,000
Information provided by: Gary Skinner and series reports (last updated April 18, 2:07 pm)
Kinzer ends dry spell as 14th winner on tour
Johnny Salyer Memorial
  1. Brandon Kinzer
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  4. Tim Dohm
  5. Gregg Satterlee
  6. Zack Dohm
  7. Chris Combs
  8. Michael Chilton
  9. Eric Wells
  10. Rod Conley
  11. Billy Ogle Jr.
  12. Dustin Linville
  13. Shannon Thornsberry
  14. Victor Lee
  15. Kenneth Howell
  16. Stacy Boles
  17. David Payne
  18. J.T. Conley
  19. Derek Fisher
  20. Paul Davis
  21. Jackie Boggs
  22. Austin Smith
  23. Stephen Breeding
presented by
Rick Schwallie/rickschwalliephotos.com
A view of 201 Speedway, where Brandon Kinzer won April 17.
What won the race: Ending a long winless streak, Brandon Kinzer of nearby Allen, Ky., jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag and led all 40 laps en route to becoming the 14th winner in 14 Spring Nationals events over two seasons. Fellow Kentuckian Jackie Boggs made a bid for the lead on the seventh lap but spun after the frontrunners made contact.
Key notes: Kinzer notched his first victory since Oct. 21, 2011, at Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, Ala. ... The 40-lap feature was slowed by three cautions. ... Each of the other cautions came for spins on the initial start of the race. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Joe Ramey, R.J. Conley, Michael Wright, Steve Casebolt, Kenny Collins, Justin Ratliff, Josh Hall, Ray McElhiney, and Roger Stacy. ... The race opened the tour's Kentucky Triple Crown that continues Friday at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City and Saturday at Florence Speedway in Union. ... The event paid tribute to a long-time track employee and track prep specialist who died of cancer in December.
On the move: Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., last year's race winner, rallied from the 13th starting position to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Kinzer's MB Customs Race Car is powered by a Gaerte Engine with sponsorship from Bluegrass Arms, Kinzer Drilling Company, Quality Natural Gas and the Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research.
Points chase: Billy Ogle of Knoxville, Tenn., moves to the top with 746 points to lead Michael Chilton (734), Stacy Boles (726) and Donald McIntosh (722). Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., led the points entering Thursday's race but didn't compete.
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Brandon Kinzer
Time: 14.061 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Kinzer
Consolation race winners: Chris Combs, Billy Ogle Jr., Eric Wells
Provisional starters: David Payne, Stacy Boles, Austin Smith
Next series race: April 18, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728