Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 04:02:38

Sponsor 743
April 4
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Spring Meltdown) - $5,000
Information provided by: Scott McBride and series reports (last updated April 6, 5:43 pm)
MLRA rookie scores Spring Meltdown upset
Spring Meltdown
  1. Jim Shereck
  2. Tad Pospisil
  3. Jeremy Payne
  4. Chase Junghans
  5. Stormy Scott
  6. Dave Eckrich
  7. Jason Krohn
  8. Tommy Weder Jr.
  9. Terry Phillips
  10. John Anderson
  11. Ryan Gustin
  12. Jason Utter
  13. Jake O'Neil
  14. Chad Simpson
  15. Dustin Walker
  16. Ben Schaller
  17. Austin Siebert
  18. Jeremy Keller
  19. Spencer Diercks
  20. Scott Lewis
  21. Jason O'Brien
  22. Dan Shepherd
  23. Bill Leighton Jr.
  24. Kyle Berck
  25. Chris Spieker
  26. Denny Eckrich
  27. J.C. Wyman
  28. Brian Kosiski
  29. Bill Koons
presented by
Todd Boyd
Jim Shereck of St. Charles, Mo., won his first touring feature.
What won the race: In a major upset, MLRA rookie Jim Shereck of St. Charles, Mo., led all 40 laps of the Spring Meltdown finale for a career-high $5,000 victory at I-80 Speedway. He took the checkers 3.6 seconds ahead of Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb.
Quotable: "A lot of it was luck," said Shereck. "Good heat race, good points, getting on the pole. I can't thank my kids, Marc (crew chief), they did a super job. We've got a limited crew, but we get the most out of it. You had to keep it straight or you wouldn't have any tires. I don't even know what these look like. I could tell though, at the end, the tires were fading."
Key notes: Runner-up Tad Pospisil debuted a Black Diamond Chassis during the weekend. ... Reigning MLRA champ Chad Simpson spun in a consy, one night after spinning while leading the feature. ... Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, won Friday's weekend opener; he started 16th and finished 11th on Saturday. ... The co-sanctioned event kicked off the seasons of the Corn Belt Clash and Lucas Oil MLRA. ... MLRA competitors will return to I-80 on June 26 and July 17-18.
On the move: Stormy Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., started ninth and moved forward to record his second top-five finish of the weekend. ... Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa climbed from 20th to finish 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Shereck's Barry Wright Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from Imo's Pizza and Kuebler Ultra Oil.
Points chase: Scott ends the weekend atop MLRA points with 194, two more than Springfield, Mo., natives Jeremy Payne and Terry Phillips.
Car count: 41
Polesitter: Jim Shereck
Heat race winners: Terry Phillips, Jason Krohn, Jim Shereck, Jeremy Payne
Consolation race winners: J.C. Wyman, Jake O'Neil
Provisional starters: Chad Simpson, Spencer Diercks, Austin Siebert, Scott Lewis, Kyle Berck, Bill Leighton Jr.
Next series race: April 10, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Shereck, Payne
Row 2: Pospisil, Krohn
Row 3: Junghans, Phillips
Row 4: Scott, Anderson
Row 5: Da. Eckrich, Weder
Row 6: Keller, Spieker
Row 7: Whitwell, De. Eckrich
Row 8: Walker, Gustin
Row 9: Wyman, O'Neil
Row 10: Shepherd, Utter
Row 11: Schaller, O'Brien
Row 12: Simpson, Diercks
Row 13: Siebert, Lewis
Row 14: Berck, Leighton
Row 15: Koons, B. Kosiski
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information