Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 00:22:24

Sponsor 743
March 28
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Ed Gibbons Memorial) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 31, 3:17 pm)
Labonte scores first career Clash triumph
Ed Gibbons Memorial
  1. Justin Labonte
  2. Donald Bradsher
  3. Kyle Pierce
  4. G.R. Smith
  5. Scott Shirey
  6. Zack Mitchell
  7. Shaun Sewell
  8. Anthony Sanders
  9. Johnny Pursley
  10. Kerry King Jr.
  11. Josh Langley
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Mike Parker
  14. Ben Watkins
  15. Kevin Wilson
  16. Jim Rasey
  17. Derek Francis
  18. Kelly Guy
  19. Ross Bailes
  20. Jay Sessoms
  21. Russell Erwin
  22. Christian Joyner
  23. Chris Ferguson
  24. Greg Clark
presented by
GWC Photography by Brian Ivey
Terry Labonte (left) joins his winning son Justin in victory lane.
What won the race: Justin Labonte of Trinity, N.C., led all 40 laps to top Donald Bradsher of Burlington, N.C., for his first career Carolina Clash victory and a $4,000 triumph in Ed Gibbons Memorial at Fayetteville Motor Speedway.
Quotable: “I just can’t say enough about this new Longhorn Chassis. This car was awesome. This is our first win (on the series) and it is great, especially after all the bad luck we have had over the years.”
Key notes: The winner is the son of former NASCAR champion Terry Labonte, who joined Justin in victory lane. ... He's the 61st winner in series history. ... The tour made the first of four stops at Fayetteville. ... The night ended early for Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., who suffered mechanical issues after clocking fast time in qualifying; he borrowed a car to start-and-park in the feature. ... Dale Hammond also scratched with engine problems. ... Josh Langley drew a caution on lap 32 with a left-rear flat. ... Another yellow fell on lap 34 for the right-rear flat of Jim Rasey. ... Ben Watkins lost a right-rear tire, slowing in turn three on the final lap to set up a green-white-checkered finish. ... Saturday's race honored the former Carolina Clash champion who died in a 2009 automobile accident. ... Gib Gibbons, the son of Ed Gibbons, won the track's weekly Late Model feature.
On the move: Anthony Sanders of Charlotte, N.C., rallied from the 18th starting position to finish eighth for the Safety-Kleen Hard Charger of the Race honors.
Winner's sponsors: Labonte drives a Longhorn Chassis.
Points chase: Chris Ferguson (201) has a 14-point lead after two series races over Ben Watkins (187) with Doug Sanders (184) in third.
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 16.839 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Ferguson
Consolation race winners: Josh Langley, Johnny Pursley
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information