Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 07:16:39

Sponsor 743
March 21
Springfield Raceway,
Springfield, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (March Madness) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 22, 8:03 am)
Jackson wins dogfight, MARS opener at Springfield
March Madness
  1. Tony Jackson Jr.
  2. Jesse Stovall
  3. Jeremy Payne
  4. Brandon Hightower
  5. Dustin Walker
  6. Tyler Erb
  7. Tim Manville
  8. Jeff Roth
  9. Chandler Petty
  10. Cole Wells
  11. Dewayne Kiefer
  12. Scott Crigler
  13. Kyle Beard
  14. Leroy Johnson
  15. Brad Looney
  16. Brandon Morton
  17. Josh Hughes
  18. Jason Hughes
  19. Justin Asplin
  20. Shannon Scott
  21. Timothy Culp
  22. Brandon McCormick
presented by
Chris Bork/cbracephotos.com
Tony Jackson Jr. celebrates atop his car at Springfield.
What won the race: Two-time and reigning series champion Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., won a three-driver dogfight at Springfield Raceway to capture the MARS opener. Polesitter Jesse Stovall, who led the first portion of the race, settled for second, while surprising Texas invader Tyler Erb also took a turn out front but broke to draw the sixth caution late in the 30-lapper.
Key notes: Jackson started outside the front row and notched his 10th career MARS victory. ... He notched his second victory of the season; he won in Tucson, Ariz., in January. ... Runner-up Jesse Stovall was looking to match his series victory total in the season opener. ... Early cautions included a tangle between Kyle Beard and Leroy Johnson back in the pack. ... The Springfield event served as MARS season opener after Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway's action was postponed by weather two weekends in a row. ... The race marked the 16th MARS visit to Springfield.
On the move: Arizona native and Springfield resident Jeremy Payne rallied from 13th to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Jackson's Club 29 Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Henryetta Ford, Merrill Bonding, Budweiser, RaceNote, Eibach Springs, Midwest Sheet Metal and Keyser Manufacturing.
Points chase: Jackson, the reigning series champion, jumped out to the early lead.
Car count: 30
Polesitter: Jesse Stovall
Heat race winners: Justin Asplin, Jesse Stovall, Tyler Erb, Tony Jackson Jr.
Consolation race winners: Dewayne Kiefer, Cole Wells
Provisional starters: Josh Hughes, Brandon McCormick
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information