Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 21:59:24

Sponsor 743
April 27
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series, track and team reports (last updated April 29, 6:20 pm)
Magnolia gives Hughes back-to-back MSCCS wins
  1. Spencer Hughes
  2. Chad Thrash
  3. Oakley Johns
  4. Hunter Lewis
  5. Rick Rickman
  6. Derrick Nichols
  7. Jarret Stuckey
  8. Dean Carpenter
  9. Dillon Tidmore
  10. Jamey Boland
  11. Brandon Carpenter
  12. Chase Williams
  13. Ross Camponovo
  14. Donald Johns
  15. Logan Mize
  16. Mike Myers
  17. Brian Rickman
  18. Shane Stephens
  19. Tanner Kellick
  20. Jamie Elam
  21. Jeremy Shaw
  22. Neil Baggett
  23. Clay Stuckey
  24. Mark Dodson
presented by
Chris McDill
Spencer Hughes on Magnolia's frontstretch celebrating his $3,000 victory.
What won the race: Spencer Hughes of Meridian, Miss., scored a dominating flag-to-flag triumph in Saturday's $3,000 Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series stop at Magnolia Motor Speedway. Hughes claimed his third overall win of the season and his second straight MSCCS victory, marking the fourth of his career.
Quotable: “Magnolia is a place that’ll always be special to me. I’ve won races there in multiple divisions, but it’s the place I got my first big Super Late Model win back in 2017 (with the Southern All-Stars),” Hughes said. “We were fast off the trailer and carried speed the whole night. I can’t say enough about JCM Motorsports and this awesome car they give me every night. I’m grateful to be the guy, who gets to sit in the driver’s seat.”
Key notes: With the victory, Hughes boosts his total race winnings to more than $11,000 this season. ... Tenth-starting Chad Thrash grabbed second on lap 35 and remained within striking distance of Hughes over the final six laps, finishing 0.687 of a second back. ... Seventh-starting Oakley Johns rounded-out the podium. ... Hunter Lewis improved seven positions and finished fourth. ... Dillon Tidmore gained seven spots and placed ninth. ... Saturday's main event lasted 22 minutes, with 10 competitors completing the distance and 16 running at the checkers.
On the move: Dean Carpenter of Coldwater, Miss., started 18th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes’s JCM Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Torco Advanced Lubricants, Yellow Hammer Design & Construction, Cliburn Tank Lines, Neon Bubbles Car Wash, Indiana USSSA Fastpitch, Link Construction, Professional Concrete Cutting & Drilling, Hyperco, The Mercantile, Steering Buddy, VP Race Fuels, Fox Racing Shox, Boswell Oil and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: After Magnolia: 1. Brian Rickman (430); 2. Brandon Carpenter (415); 3. Hunter Lewis (400); T4. Chad Thrash (375); T4. Derrick Nichols (375); 6. Ross Camponovo (365).
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Spencer Hughes
Time: 13.696 seconds
Polesitter: Spencer Hughes
Dash winner: Spencer Hughes
Consolation race winners: Oakley Johns, Jamie Elam
Provisional starters: Shane Stephens, Donald Johns, Logan Mize, Mike Myers, Brandon Carpenter, Tanner Kellick
Next series race: June 7, Columbus Speedway (Columbus, MS) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hughes, B. Rickman
Row 2: Baggett, R. Rickman
Row 3: Shaw, J. Stuckey
Row 4: O. Johns, Elam
Row 5: Nichols, Thrash
Row 6: Lewis, C. Stuckey
Row 7: Williams, Dodson
Row 8: Boland, Tidmore
Row 9: Camponovo, D. Carpenter
Row 10: Stephens, D. Johns
Row 11: Mize, Myers
Row 12: B. Carpenter, Kellick

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information