Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 02:30:16

Sponsor 743
April 20
Lake Cumberland Speedway,
Burnside, KY
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Johnny Wheeler Memorial) - $10,053
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 21, 6:03 am)
Camaron Marlar earns Spring Nationals first at LCS
Johnny Wheeler Memorial
  1. Camaron Marlar
  2. Josh Rice
  3. Pearson Lee Williams
  4. Jason Jameson
  5. Daulton Wilson
  6. Tyler Erb
  7. Donald McIntosh
  8. Carson Ferguson
  9. Justin Rattliff
  10. Devin Gilpin
  11. Christian Hanger
  12. Austin Lay
  13. Tyler Clem
  14. Dustin Linville
  15. Adam Stricker
  16. Cody Mahoney
  17. Michael Chilton
  18. Tripp Gerrald
  19. Skylar Marlar
  20. Robby Hensley
  21. Forrest Trent
  22. Connor Meade
presented by
Braden Rouse Photography
Camaron Marlar, family and team celebrate Saturday's $10,053 main event victory.
What won the race: Camaron Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., scored a flag-to-flag victory in Saturday’s 53-lap Johnny Wheeler Memorial at Lake Cumberland Speedway. The younger brother of Dirt Late Model veteran Mike Marlar earned $10.053 for his first feature victory of the season and his first career Schaeffer's Spring Nationals triumph.
Quotable: “It’s the biggest (win) of my career,” Marlar said. “And I’m just happy to get it for Johnny Wheeler. I remember the first $10,000 (-to-win race) I ever seen, he won it and he was No. 57, so that’s pretty cool to get my first one. We might be from Tennessee, but we’re just 30 minutes south of here, so this is home.”
Key notes: Marlar led all the way largely unchallenged for his richest career payday. It was his first Super Late Model win since topping a 26-car SAS field on April 23, 2022, at Tennessee’s Smoky Mountain Speedway, but he began 2024 with finishes of second on April 12 at Moulton and third on March 30 at Florence. … Josh Rice reclaimed the runner-up spot on a lap-28 restart and trailed Marlar the remaining distance, finishing 0.831 of a second back. … Pearson Lee Williams improved 11 positions and rounded out the podium. … Making a rare Spring Nationals Series start, Tyler Erb ran as high as second before pitting from seventh on lap 27. He rebounded to finish sixth. ... Eight caution flags slowed the 45-minute feature, the most significant being the sixth stoppage on a lap-28 restart attempt when Dustin Linville spun from eighth, collecting Donald McIntosh, Cody Mahoney and Adam Stricker and necessitating a 10-minute red flag for cleanup. … Carson Ferguson slowed running sixth on lap 46 with a flat right-rear tire but returned to finish eighth; third-running Devin Gilpin retired with a flat right-rear tire during the caution period. … Justin Rattliff suffered a flat right-rear on lap 51, drawing the race's eighth and final caution. He was credited with ninth, the last driver running at the finish. … Tyler Clem spun from seventh on lap 21 and collected Tripp Gerrald while Michael Chilton spun on lap 27. … Skylar Marlar showed displeasure with Gilpin under the second yellow, on lap 20, after apparent contact left the fifth-running Marlar with a flat left-rear tire. … Forrest Trent spun on lap four to bring out the first yellow. ... Max Blair hit the wall in hot laps, damaging the J-bar and driveshaft, before loading up and calling it a night.
On the move: Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., started 22nd and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Marlar’s Rick Curl-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Curl Properties, Marlar Auto Mart, Mac Metal Sales & Trusses, Wayne Bowen, Platinum Designs, XS Power and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: After Lake Cumberland: 1. Pearson Lee Williams (1,124); 2. Donald McIntosh (1,122); 3. Christian Hanger (1,080); 4. Ethan Dotson (896); 5. Brenden Smith (595).
Current weather: Clear, 55°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Camaron Marlar
Time: 13.449 seconds
Polesitter: Camaron Marlar
Heat race winners: Camaron Marlar, Carson Ferguson, Jason Jameson
Consolation race winners: Forrest Trent
Provisional starters: Christian Hanger, Donald McIntosh
Next series race: May 3, Sugar Creek Raceway (Blue Ridge, GA) $7,553
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Marlar, Ca. Ferugson
Row 2: Jameson, T. Erb
Row 3: Gilpin, Jo. Rice
Row 4: Wilson, S. Marlar
Row 5: Rattliff, Clem
Row 6: Gerrald, Mahoney
Row 7: Linville, Williams
Row 8: Chilton, Stricker
Row 9: Hensley, A. Lay
Row 10: Trent, Meade
Row 11: Hanger, McIntosh

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information