Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 20:53:19

Sponsor 743
April 19
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Alabama Gang 100 second semifeature) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 20, 4:59 am)
Rain clinches second TST semi for McLaughlin
Alabama Gang 100 second semifeature
  1. Max McLaughlin
  2. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  3. Sam Seawright
  4. Bobby Pierce
  5. Jimmy Owens
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Oakley Johns
  8. Cody Overton
  9. Ashton Winger
  10. Ryan Gustin
  11. Kyle Bronson
  12. T.J. Brittain
  13. Chris Ferguson
  14. Daniel Hilsabeck
  15. David McCoy
  16. Chase Oliver
  17. J.R. Moseley
  18. Austin Smith
  19. Dillon Tidmore
  20. Dustin Walker
  21. Tyler Bruening
  22. Ryan Wilson
  23. Cade Dillard
  24. Tristan Chamberlain
presented by
Zack Washington/Simple Moments Photography
Max McLaughlin and his G.R. Smith-led team celebrate their $4,000 victory.
What won the race: Breaking through for his first victory in a Dirt Late Model, Max McLaughlin of Mooresville, N.C., captured Friday night's rain-shortened second Alabama Gang 100 semifeature at Talladega Short Track. The 24-year-old full-fender rookie grabbed the lead on the first circuit and was still in front when rain prompted World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series officials to declare the race complete after 16 of the scheduled 25 laps, handing him the $4,000 top prize.
Quotable: “I don’t even really know what to say right now,” McLaughlin said. “This is only my fifth time in a Super Late Model (event) and they have been such a challenge. If you would’ve told me that I was gonna win tonight I would’ve probably told you you were crazy.”
Key notes: A versatile racer who's competed mostly in the Northeast's big-block modified class, McLaughlin debuted in G.R. Smith's Dirt Late Model during Speedweeks. He outgunned Jimmy Owens for the lead at the start of the semifeature and was 0.880 of a second in front of runner-up Ricky Thornton Jr. on the last completed green-flag lap. ... The success does not count as an official WoO victory because it's a split-field race, but it locked McLaughlin, Thornton and third-place Sam Seawright into Saturday's 75-lap, $35,000-to-win finale. ... The top three finishers from each semifeature will redraw for the first six starting spots in the headliner. ... Three cautions flew before a lap was completed: for separate spins by Tristan Chamberlain and Dustin Walker and then a tangle between turns three and four that saw Owens and Thornton spin after making contact and collect Tyler Bruening. ... Owens and Thornton kept their starting positions for the complete restart; Bruening had to go to the rear because he pitted. ... Bobby Pierce advanced from ninth to fourth and finished in the position; he wondered afterward why the race was checkered early for light rain after seeing the USCS 360 sprint cars hit the track to race shortly after the semifeature was declared official. ... A total of six caution flags dotted the 16 laps, including Cade Dillard slowing on lap 10 and additional spins by Walker on laps 12 and 16. ... After breaking two brake rotors in hot laps, Chris Ferguson hopped the cushion and made slight contact with the turn-one wall during his qualifying attempt with running without a brake rotor on the right-rear. He went on to finish 13th in the semifeature.
On the move: Chris Ferguson of Mt. Holly, N.C., started 24th and finished 13th.
Winner's sponsors: McLaughlin’s Team 22 Inc. Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Engine and carries sponsorship from Mohawk Northeast, Victory Circle Auto Sales, Gambler Transport, Brickhouse Tavern, Armor Security, R.J.’s Excavating, Collins Signs and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: Before Talladega: 1. Brandon Sheppard (1,142); 2. Chris Madden (1,118); 3. Nick Hoffman (1,108); 4. Cade Dillard (1,106); 5. Tyler Bruening (1,060); 6. Dennis Erb Jr. (1,050); 7. Kyle Bronson (1,044); 8. Bobby Pierce (1,020); 9. Brian Shirley (1,008); 10. Ryan Gustin (1,000); 11. Cody Overton (990); 12. Dustin Sorensen (972).
Current weather: Overcast, 72°F
Car count: 48
Fast qualifier: Jimmy Owens
Time: 13.371 seconds
Polesitter: Jimmy Owens
Next series race: April 20, Talladega Short Track (Eastaboga, AL) $35,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Owens, McLaughlin
Row 2: Thornton, Bruening
Row 3: Seawright, K. Larson
Row 4: Gustin, Dillard
Row 5: Pierce, Bronson
Row 6: Winger, Johns
Row 7: Moseley, Chamberlain
Row 8: C. Overton, McCoy
Row 9: C. Oliver, Brittain
Row 10: Wilson, Tidmore
Row 11: Walker, Hilsabeck
Row 12: Smith, Ch. Ferguson

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information