Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 03:44:56

Sponsor 743
April 13
Shawano Speedway,
Shawano, WI
Sanction: Wabam Dirt Kings Tour (Spring Thaw) - $1,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 15, 4:21 pm)
Mullen marches to win $1,500 Dirt Kings opener
Spring Thaw
  1. Mike Mullen
  2. Gunner Frank
  3. Andy Karl
  4. Nick Anvelink
  5. Justin Ritchie
  6. Troy Springborn
  7. Joel Bennett
  8. Brett Swedberg
  9. Bill Edler
  10. Turk Letizia
  11. Jared Siefert
  12. Sawyer Specht
  13. Todd Frank
  14. Lukas Postl
  15. Jordan Barkholtz
  16. Chris Oertel
presented by
Chad Marquardt/cmarqwebdesign@yahoo.com
Mike Mullen led the final 18 laps to win Saturday's Dirt Kings season opener.
What won the race: Moving around early leader Andy Karl on lap eight, third-starting Mike Mullen of Seymour, Wis., paced the final 18 circuits to win Saturday's $1,500 Spring Thaw season opener at Shawano Speedway. Mullen notched his fifth career Wabam Dirt Kings Tour feature triumph and his first series victory at Shawano — three of his other four wins came at his home track, Outagamie Speedway, while the other came last July at Luxemburg (Wis.) Speedway.
Key notes: Fourth-starting Gunner Frank reclaimed the runner-up spot on lap 10 and trailed Mullen the final 16 laps, finishing a distant 4.648 seconds back. ... The second-starting Karl, of Mosinee, Wis., led the opening 17 laps before giving way to Mullen and Frank, completing the podium finishers. ... Six-time reigning Dirt Kings champion Nick Anvelink improved two positions and finished fourth. ... Justin Ritchie gained two spots and rounded-out the top five. ... Pole-starting Chris Oertel faded to sixth before pulling off and calling it a night on lap three. ... Saturday's season opener was slowed by three cautions and lasted 16 minutes, with 10 drivers running at the finish. ... Shawn Miller and Aaron Wickersheim scratched from the main event lineup.
On the move: Troy Springborn of Shawano, Wis., started 16th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Mullen’s Ricky Lemmen Racing-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Ricky Lemmen Trucking, Swinkles Trucking & Excavating Corp., Diemel’s Livestock, Bayland Buildings, Shoot’s Bar & Grill, Toby K’s Hideaway, C. Roffers Properties, Wayne Roffers Trucking, DTAK LLC, Millwrights Local 1056, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Five Star Property Maintenance and Speedwerx.
Points chase: After Shawano: 1. Mike Mullen (50); 2. Gunner Frank (48); 3. Andy Karl (46); 4. Nick Anvelink (44); 5. Justin Ritchie (42); 6. Troy Springborn (40).
Current weather: Clear, 63°F
Car count: 18
Polesitter: Chris Oertel
Heat race winners: Nick Anvelink, Gunner Frank
Next series race: April 20, Beaver Dam Raceway (Beaver Dam, WI) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Oertel, Karl
Row 2: Mullen, G. Frank
Row 3: T. Frank, Anvelink
Row 4: Ritchie, Siefert
Row 5: Bennett, Swedberg
Row 6: Specht, Letizia
Row 7: Postl, Edler
Row 8: Barkholtz, Springborn
Row 9: Miller, Wickersheim

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information