Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 22:52:29

Sponsor 743
April 5
Buckshot Speedway,
Clanton, AL
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $7,553
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 6, 10:38 am)
Winger targets Buckshot for first tour victory
  1. Ashton Winger
  2. David Breazeale
  3. Spencer Hughes
  4. Pearson Lee Williams
  5. Payton Freeman
  6. Joseph Joiner
  7. Christian Hanger
  8. Caleb Gay
  9. Donald McIntosh
  10. David McCoy
  11. Caden Mullinax
  12. Brenden Smith
  13. J.R. Moseley
  14. Kyle Bronson
  15. Garrett Smith
  16. Cruz Skinner
  17. Austin Franklin
  18. Jackson Hise
  19. Colton Leyendecker
  20. Bill Mahan
  21. Dillon Tidmore
  22. Ethan Dotson
presented by
Zackary Washington
Ashton Winger collected $7,553 for Friday's efforts at Buckshot Speedway.
What won the race: Taking the lead from pole-starting David Breazeale on the seventh circuit, sixth-starting Ashton Winger of Hampton, Ga., led the rest of Friday's Schaeffer's Spring Nationals stop at Buckshot Speedway. Winger earned a $7,553 and his first series victory in dominating fashion, outrunning Breazeale by 5.102 seconds.
Quotable: “Shoot, I felt like we were pretty good all night, but the (time-trial) groups were pretty even tonight and (we) just barely got beat in qualifying there,” Winger said. “It’s hard when you start sixth, ya know, 40 laps are sprints. Thanks to (series promoter) Ray (Cook) and everybody for giving us a place to race. I actually enjoy coming over here to Buckshot, it’s a different place that we haven’t been to a whole lot, so thanks for all the fans for coming out.”
Key notes: Winger became the fourth winner in four Spring Nationals events this season. ... Breazeale, of Four Corners, Miss., led the opening six laps before giving way to Winger and fended off a late-race challenge to finish second ahead of Spencer Hughes. ... Championship contender Pearson Lee Williams advanced one position to finish fourth, while third-starting Payton Freeman rounded-out the top five. ... Tenth-starting Joseph Joiner, who was seeking his fourth consecutive victory at Buckshot, finished sixth. ... Donald McIntosh finished ninth aboard Jordon Horton's No. 56 machine, after suffering mechanical issues on his usual No. 79 Billy Hicks-owned entry; McIntosh holds a slim two-point advantage over Williams entering Saturday's fifth round. ... Ninth-running Kyle Bronson retired on lap 25 in 14th. ... Sixth-running Garrett Smith retired with a flat tire on lap 22. ... Eighth-starting Ethan Dotson was the first to retire on lap four. ... Friday's feature was slowed by five cautions and lasted 25 minutes, with 12 competitors completing the distance.
On the move: Caleb Gay of Dublin, Ga., started 21st and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Winger’s Jeff Mathews Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from RV Select Inc., CURS, Super K Express, Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Shocks, Angry Elephant Tattoo and Piercing, FK Rod Ends, A-Plus Collision Center, Hoosier Tire, Simpson Race Products, Collins Signs, DirtCarLift.com, VP Race Fuels, CSR Aluminum Fabrication, Boswell Oil and WrapTech.
Points chase: After Buckshot: 1. Donald McIntosh (752); 2. Pearson Lee Williams (750); T3. Ethan Dotson (714); T3. Christian Hanger (714); 5. Brandon Overton (582).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Spencer Hughes
Time: 12.992 seconds
Polesitter: David Breazeale
Consolation race winners: Kyle Bronson, Colton Leyendecker
Provisional starters: Caleb Gay, Caden Mullinax
Next series race: April 6, East Alabama Motor Speedway (Phenix City, AL) $10,053
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Breazeale, Hughes
Row 2: Freeman, Hanger
Row 3: Williams, Winger
Row 4: G. Smith, Dotson
Row 5: McCoy, Joiner
Row 6: Bronson, Leyendecker
Row 7: B. Smith, Mahan
Row 8: Hise, C. Skinner
Row 9: Moseley, Tidmore
Row 10: McIntosh, A. Franklin
Row 11: Gay, Mullinax

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information