Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 08:49:50

Sponsor 743
April 5
Poplar Bluff Motorsports Park,
Poplar Bluff, MO
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 6, 8:50 am)
Stevens streaks to $5,000 Comp Cams victory
  1. Tyler Stevens
  2. Logan Martin
  3. Morgan Bagley
  4. Dillon McCowan
  5. Matt Cooper
  6. Todd Hall
  7. Oakley Johns
  8. B.J. Robinson
  9. Mason Oberkramer
  10. Jon Mitchell
  11. Brandon Ball
  12. Tristan Chamberlain
  13. Jon Kirby
  14. Brennon Willard
  15. Scott Crigler
  16. Austin Vincent
  17. Jeff Herzog
  18. Charlie Cole
  19. Keith Hammett
  20. Hunter Rasdon
  21. Kyle Beard
  22. Clay Stuckey
presented by
Rich LaBrier
Tyler Stevens celebrates his fifth career Comp Cams victory.
What won the race: Losing the lead to Logan Martin after pacing the opening 12 circuits, Tyler Stevens of Searcy, Ark., regained control on lap 27 and led the rest of the way in Friday's Comp Cams Super Dirt Series 35-lapper at Poplar Bluff Motorsports Park. Stevens beat Martin to the finish line by 3.870 seconds to earn his first victory of the season and $5,000.
Quotable: “I ran the bottom there and had (my crew guy) telling me to move up down there in (turns) one and two and it started to clean up kinda around the top,” Stevens said. “So, (I) went up there and I got a little bit tight there once getting in and Logan (Martin) got a run on me and me and him started racing pretty hard there. He was way up in (the cushion) down there and I was kind of a lane down, but if I could enter straight and keep my car straight, man it was really, really good. It’s been a long week, we did a chop, cut, rebuild and it’s definitely paying off though. These races are hard to win, no matter where it’s at, Super Late Model racing is tough. Anytime you can get a win, it’s definitely top tier.”
Key notes: Stevens earned his fifth career Comp Cams victory, his first since sweeping the Louisiana State Championship at Greenwood, La.'s Boothill Speedway in September 2022. ... The fifth-starting Martin, of West Plains, Mo., led 14 circuits before settling for a runner-up finish. ... Morgan Bagley advanced nine positions to round out the podium. ... Mason Oberkramer pursued Stevens for the opening eight circuits before fading to finish ninth. ... Kyle Beard entered as the series points leader before pulling off on lap 19 and being credited with a 20th-place finish. ... Friday's feature lasted 33 minutes with 17 starters completing the distance. ... Poplar Bluff is hosting an eclipse event on Monday, selling RV and car spots to the facility.
On the move: Oakley Johns of Hohenwald, Tenn., started 16th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Stevens drives a Longhorn Chassis powered by a Mod Co Racing Engine and sponsored by Keith Hammett Trucking & Construction, D&D Well Services, James A. Rogers Excavating, Southern Belle, Boomland, Super Bee Speedway, ATC Bolts & Fastners, Wabam, Hoosier Tire, Earnhardt Technologies Group, Base Racing Fuel, Swift Springs, Penske Shocks and Rush Racegear.
Points chase: After Poplar Bluff: 1. Logan Martin (301); 2. Morgan Bagley (280); 3. Kyle Beard (278); 4. B.J. Robinson (268); 5. Jon Mitchell (238).
Current weather: Clear, 52°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Dillon McCowan
Time: 15.138 seconds
Polesitter: Tyler Stevens
Heat race winners: Tyler Stevens, B.J. Robinson, Hunter Rasdon, Mason Oberkramer
Consolation race winners: Clay Stuckey
Provisional starters: Austin Vincent, Charlie Cole
Next series race: April 6, Old No. 1 Speedway (Harrisburg, AR) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stevens, Rasdon
Row 2: Robinson, Oberkramer
Row 3: Martin, McCowan
Row 4: Crigler, Hall
Row 5: Cooper, Chamberlain
Row 6: Mitchell, Bagley
Row 7: Willard, Herzog
Row 8: Hammett, O. Johns
Row 9: C. Stuckey, Kirby
Row 10: Ball, Beard
Row 11: Vincent, Cole

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information