Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/24/2024 23:47:05

Sponsor 743
March 30
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Lil' Bill Corum Memorial) - $21,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 1, 9:02 am)
McDowell gets revenge, wins $21,000 at Tazewell
Lil' Bill Corum Memorial
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Cory Hedgecock
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Scott Bloomquist
  6. Hudson O'Neal
  7. Jimmy Owens
  8. Chris Ferguson
  9. Dakotah Knuckles
  10. Ethan Dotson
  11. Pearson Lee Williams
  12. Ricky Weiss
  13. Josh Henry
  14. Mack McCarter
  15. Forrest Trent
  16. Christian Hanger
  17. Brenden Smith
  18. Josh Sneed
  19. Austin Neely
  20. David Payne
  21. Jordon Horton
  22. Brian Shockley
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Dale McDowell explains how he won Saturday's Lil' Bill Corum Memorial at Tazewell Speedway.
What won the race: A night removed from losing a last-lap battle with Brandon Overton, pole-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., led all 75 laps to earn a $21,000 triumph in Saturday's fourth annual Lil' Bill Corum Memorial at Tazewell Speedway. McDowell's second straight Corum Memorial triumph was his first Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals victory of the season and the 18th of his career, further extending his advantage on the tour's all-time wins list.
Quotable: "Shane actually made changes on the car and they just went the right way," McDowell said of his brother, who fields Dale's car. "Last night Brandon (Overton) was a little better and tonight we were a little better. It’s exciting for me to come here. I love this place and you wouldn’t think I’d like this place because I’m (about to turn) 58 years old and this place is demanding, but I look up there at the board and old Scott (Bloomquist) finished fifth, so us old guys got a top-five.”
Key notes: McDowell's first victory of 2024 came in his 11th start. ... Brandon Overton, who overtook McDowell on the final lap to win Friday's Spring Nationals feature at I-75 Raceway, trailed McDowell the entire distance and finished 2.580 seconds back in second place. ... Sixth-starting Cory Hedgecock pressured Overton in the closing laps before settling for third. ... Donald McIntosh finished fourth after overtaking Scott Bloomquist on lap 69, leaving the Hall of Famer with a fifth-place results. ... David Payne slowed from 15th with apparent left-front suspension damage, drawing the race's only caution on lap 18 before pulling off. ... Saturday's feature lasted 19 minutes with 10 competitors completing the distance and 18 running at the finish.
On the move: Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., started 11th and finished sixth driving Kevin Rumley's Longhorn Chassis.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing Team Zero Race Car has a Clements Chevrolet engine and sponsorship from E-Z-Go, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Connected Strategy Advisors, Northeastern Fabrication, Fox Racing Shox, Campbell Insulation Specialists, Shakleford Enterprises and Spring-Pro.
Points chase: After Tazewell: 1. Brandon Overton (582); 2. Donald McIntosh (570); T3. Ethan Dotson (558); T3. Pearson Lee Williams (558); 5. Christian Hanger (528); 6. Dale McDowell (396).
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Dale McDowell
Time: 11.786 seconds
Polesitter: Dale McDowell
Heat race winners: Dale McDowell, Brandon Overton, Scott Bloomquist
Consolation race winners: Austin Neely
Next series race: April 5, Buckshot Speedway (Clanton, AL) $7,553
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McDowell, B. Overton
Row 2: Bloomquist, Knuckles
Row 3: Owens, Hedgecock
Row 4: McIntosh, Dotson
Row 5: Ch. Ferguson, Trent
Row 6: O'Neal, M. McCarter
Row 7: Payne, Williams
Row 8: Smith, Sneed
Row 9: Henry, Hanger
Row 10: Neely, Weiss
Row 11: Shockley, Horton

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information