Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:03:18

Sponsor 743
March 30
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (Big Chief) - $7,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 31, 9:53 pm)
Mitchell's masterful performance nets $7,500 win
Big Chief
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Trent Ivey
  3. Ben Watkins
  4. Benji Hicks
  5. Christian Thomas
  6. Jeff Smith
  7. Dennis Franklin
  8. Gray Parton
  9. John Henderson
  10. Michael Leach
  11. Greg Clark
  12. Royce Bray
  13. Cla Knight
  14. Donovan Jackson
  15. Owen Osteen
  16. Brent Robinson
  17. Carson Brown
  18. Willie Milliken
  19. Wil Herrington
  20. Steve Banal
  21. Ricky Greene
  22. Travis Stoner
  23. David Yandle
  24. Mark Greene
presented by
Kevin Ritchie/ritchiephotography.smugmug.com
Zack Mitchell celebrates his dominant $7,500 Ultimate SE victory at Cherokee.
What won the race: Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., led all 40 laps from the pole and scored a dominating flag-to-flag victory in Saturday's $7,500 Big Chief at Cherokee Speedway. Mitchell notched his first feature victory of the season and the 17th Ultimate Southeast Series triumph of his career, trailing only Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., on the tour's all-time wins list.
Quotable: “I seen the (signal) sticks closing up and I could kinda hear (Trent Ivey) there,” Mitchell said. “I kinda didn’t know where to go at the end of the race, cause I got trapped behind some of them lapped cars and it kinda took the air off my nose. Heck of a run tonight man, I knew Trent would run me clean, congrats to him on (finishing) second.”
Key notes: Third-starting Trent Ivey regained the runner-up spot on lap 19 and trailed Mitchell for the final 22 laps, taking the checkers 2.820 seconds back. ... Fifth-starting Ben Watkins executed a bold sixth-to-third move on lap 21 and completed the podium finishers. ... Benji Hicks trailed Mitchell for the opening seven laps, before fading to finish fourth. ... Dennis Franklin improved three positions and finished seventh. ... Sun River, Mont.'s Michael Leach gained two spots and rounded-out the top 10. ... Second-running Wil Herrington slowed on lap 19 before pulling off. ... Willie Milliken slowed from 17th to draw the race's first caution on lap 17; he completed only eight more laps before calling it a night. ... Saturday's feature was slowed by two cautions and lasted 17 minutes, with 14 drivers completing the distance and 17 running at the finish. ... Mark Greene scratched from the main event lineup.
On the move: Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., started ninth and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis by Wells is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood, Inc., SoCar Chemical, Charles West Grading, Rolling Pines Lawn & Landscaping, Earnhardt Technologies Group, Hoosier Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Fox Racing Shocks and Big A’s Custom Graphics.
Points chase: After Cherokee: 1. Zack Mitchell (35); 2. Trent Ivey (34); 3. Ben Watkins (33); 4. Benji Hicks (32); 5. Christian Thomas (31).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 15.200 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Consolation race winners: Greg Clark, Michael Leach
Next series race: April 6, Lake View Motor Speedway (Nichols, SC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, Hicks
Row 2: Ivey, Herrington
Row 3: Watkins, Thomas
Row 4: Parton, Henderson
Row 5: Smith, Franklin
Row 6: Clark, Leach
Row 7: Knight, Bray
Row 8: R. Greene, Jackson
Row 9: Brown, Robinson
Row 10: Yandle, M. Greene
Row 11: Stoner, Milliken
Row 12: Banal, Osteen

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information