Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 10:04:04

Sponsor 743
March 29
Ultimate Motorsports Park,
Elkin, NC
Sanction: Mid-East Super Late Models (Doug Walls Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 15, 9:20 pm)
Wilson earns $10,000 flag-to-flag Elkin victory
Doug Walls Memorial
  1. Daulton Wilson
  2. Ben Watkins
  3. Casey Roberts
  4. Carson Ferguson
  5. Benji Hicks
  6. Cla Knight
  7. Ross Bailes
  8. Zack Mitchell
  9. Wil Herrington
  10. Ethan Wilson
  11. Max McLaughlin
  12. Michael Leach
  13. Jeff Smith
  14. Austin Kirkpatrick
  15. Jordan Koehler
  16. John Henderson
  17. Gray Parton
  18. Nick Hoffman
  19. Caleb Fulp
  20. Christian Thomas
  21. Jeff Parsons
  22. Luke Morey
  23. Trent Ivey
  24. Matthew Nance
presented by
Kevin Ritchie
Daulton Wilson celebrates his $10,000 victory at Ultimate Motorsports Park.
What won the race: Second-starting Daulton Wilson of Fayetteville, N.C., led all 48 laps to claim the $10,000 top prize in Friday's inaugural Doug Walls Memorial at Ultimate Motorsports Park. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regular earned his second feature victory of the 2024 season and his second career Mid-East Super Late Model Series triumph after topping last fall's Halloween special at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C.
Key notes: Wilson's previous win this season was his first-ever Lucas Oil Series victory on Feb. 10 at Florida's East Bay Raceway Park. ... Fifth-starting Ben Watkins reclaimed the runner-up spot on a lap-20 restart and trailed Wilson for the final 29 laps, finishing 1.631 seconds back. ... Making his second start of the season, Dirt Late Model veteran Casey Roberts started and finished third. ... Pole-starting Carson Ferguson slipped as low as sixth in the early going before rebounding to finish fourth driving Derek Dent's Longhorn Chassis. ... Benji Hicks ran as high as second before slipping to complete the top-five finishers. ... Ross Bailes improved six positions and finished seventh. ... Making a rare start, Ethan Wilson — the winner's brother — rounded out the top 10. ... Friday's feature was slowed by four separate incidents and lasted 29 minutes, with 13 competitors completing the distance. ... The race honored Charles “Doug” Walls, the father of Jason Walls, owner and founder of the Mid-East Racing Association. ... Chris Ferguson opted to load up and save his equipment after qualifying 22nd in his group and finishing eighth in his heat. ... Gunner Frank won the $500 non-qualifier race.
On the move: Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., started 22nd and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Wilson’s Justin Rattliff Racing Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Grant Lee Farms, ICS, MGL Auto Sales, Keltner Contracting, Equiplinc Auction Group, Budda Bert Transmission, JRR Trucking, JRR Motor Sales, The Auto Outlaws, New Point Lighting & Design, B&E Construction, Earnhardt Technologies Group, Hoosier Racing Tire, Penske Racing Shocks, Lucas Oil, VP Racing Fuels and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: After Ultimate: 1. Daulton Wilson (35); 2. Ben Watkins (33); 3. Casey Roberts (32); 4. Carson Ferguson (31); 5. Benji Hicks (30).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 43
Fast qualifier: Carson Ferguson
Time: 15.396 seconds
Polesitter: Carson Ferguson
Heat race winners: Carson Ferguson, Casey Roberts, Daulton Wilson, Cla Knight
Consolation race winners: Nick Hoffman, Austin Kirkpatrick
Provisional starters: Luke Morey, Jordan Koehler
Next series race: May 26, Fayetteville Motor Speedway (Fayetteville, NC) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ca. Ferguson, D. Wilson
Row 2: Roberts, Knight
Row 3: Watkins, Herrington
Row 4: Parton, McLaughlin
Row 5: Hicks, Parsons
Row 6: E. Wilson, Henderson
Row 7: Bailes, Ivey
Row 8: Fulp, Nance
Row 9: Hoffman, Kirkpatrick
Row 10: Leach, Smith
Row 11: Thomas, Mitchell
Row 12: Morey, Koehler

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information