Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 05:58:53

Sponsor 743
September 29
Greenville Speedway,
Greenville, MS
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Gumbo Nationals) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 30, 7:51 am)
Palasini's perfection nets Gumbo Nationals opener
Gumbo Nationals
  1. Mike Palasini Jr.
  2. Kyle Beard
  3. Clay Fisher
  4. Jarret Stuckey
  5. J.C. Waller
  6. Brian Rickman
  7. Derrick Nichols
  8. Troy Dow
  9. Brandon Ball
  10. Bobby Allen
  11. Lynn Irwin
  12. Rick Rickman
  13. Travis Ashley
  14. Mike Carr
  15. Jason Miles
  16. Ross Camponovo
  17. Jeremy Tharp
  18. Henry Gustavus
presented by
Latasha Schrader/Checkered Chic Photography
Mike Palasini Jr. heads for a $5,000 victory at Greenville Speedway.
What won the race: Fending off late challenges from Kyle Beard, second-starting Mike Palasini Jr. of Leland, Miss., led all 30 laps to win Friday's $5,000 17th annual Gumbo Nationals weekend opener at Greenville Speedway. Palasini crossed the checkers 0.495 of a second ahead of the third-starting Beard to win the unsanctioned Super Late Model feature.
Key notes: Pole-starting Clay Fisher faded to finish third. ... Jarret Stuckey started fifth and passed for fourth on the third lap. ... Eighth-starting J.C. Waller moved into fifth on lap 21 and completed the top five. ... Bobby Allen improved seven positions and finished 10th. … Friday's 30-lap feature was completed without incident and lasted just nine minutes, with eight drivers completing the distance and 10 running at the finish. ... Doug Showah scratched. ... Previous Gumbo Nationals winners include: Neil Baggett (2022), Logan Martin (’21), Billy Moyer (’20), Brian Rickman (’19 and ’17), Kyle Strickler (’18), Tyler Erb (’16), Timothy Culp (’14 and ‘15) and Bub McCool (’07 and ’11-’13). … The Gumbo Nationals are unsanctioned for the first time since 2010 after being sanctioned by the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series, Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series and the PRO Dirt Car Series through the years. ... The Gumbo Nationals concludes with Saturday's 40-lap, $10,000-to-win finale.
On the move: Brian Rickman of Columbus, Miss., started 14th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Palasini’s No. 8v Palasini Motorsports machine carries sponsorship from The Tint Man, M&D Aviation, Palasini Farms, Hanos Dirt Works, Inc., L&L Flying Service, Fratesi Grocery, Greenville Steel Sales, Monster Mosquito Control, Pro Green Lawn Care, LLC, Hoosier Tire and HPG Wraps.
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Clay Fisher
Time: 16.153 seconds
Polesitter: Clay Fisher
Heat race winners: Clay Fisher, Mike Palasini Jr., Kyle Beard
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Fisher, Palasini Jr.
Row 2: Beard, R. Rickman
Row 3: J. Stuckey, Dow
Row 4: Ashley, Waller
Row 5: Nichols, Ball
Row 6: Tharp, Carr
Row 7: Miles, B. Rickman
Row 8: Irwin, Camponovo
Row 9: Allen, Gustavus
Row 10: Showah

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information