Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/23/2024 18:51:54

Sponsor 743
September 22
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series (Cotton Pickin' 100) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 23, 1:07 pm)
Moyer Jr. edges Ellis in Cotton Pickin’ opener
Cotton Pickin' 100
  1. Billy Moyer Jr.
  2. Evan Ellis
  3. Ashton Winger
  4. Clay Stuckey
  5. Sam Seawright
  6. Neil Baggett
  7. Jeremy Shaw
  8. Noah Daspit
  9. Billy Moyer
  10. Cade Dillard
  11. Kyle Beard
  12. B.J. Robinson
  13. Haiden Cowan
  14. Scott Crigler
  15. Morgan Bagley
  16. Hunter Rasdon
  17. Donald Johns
  18. Brian Rickman
  19. Jamie Burford
  20. David McCoy
  21. Jon Mitchell
  22. Jarret Stuckey
  23. Monte Skinner
  24. Mason Oberkramer
  25. Jamie Elam
  26. Clay Fisher
presented by
Zackary Washington/Simple Moments Photography
Billy Moyer Jr. picks some cotton in victory lane at Magnolia.
What won the race: Leading all but one circuit of the 40-lap feature, Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., edged Evan Ellis to the line by 0.109 of a second to pick up a $4,000 Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory in Friday's opener of the Cotton Pickin' 100 at Magnolia Motor Speedway. Moyer earned his third series victory of the season ahead of Saturday's $12,000-to-win finale.
Quotable: “It got dicey in traffic, and I usually screw up in traffic and get passed when I have a good car especially,” Moyer said. “So hell, I knew (Ashton) Winger would be right there ready to pounce on it. I was just trying to hit my marks. The track kind of got a little difficult to pass, but man, the car was really good. That’s all I gotta say. The car, shocks, Cornett engine ran great — this ‘ol 410, it’s drivable.”
Key notes: Third on the series all-time wins list, Moyer Jr. captured his 22nd career Comp Cams series victory to extend his points lead. ... Third-starting Evan Ellis challenged Moyer Jr. for the lead at mid-race and nosed ahead to pace lap 21 before missing the lane of rubber and falling back to third. He rallied to regain second from Ashton Winger on lap 27 and fell just shy of his first career series triumph. ... Georgia's Winger rounded out the podium in third after starting from the outside pole. … Seeking his second feature victory of the season at his home track, hometown driver Neil Baggett finished sixth. … Jeremy Shaw, who earned his first career Comp Cams victory at Magnolia earlier this month, finished seventh. ... Making his first career start with the series, Noah Daspit of Kiln, Miss., finished eighth. ... Billy Moyer, the winner's father and a three-time Cotton Pickin' 100 winner, started 15th and finished ninth. ... The 40-lap feature was slowed by two cautions and lasted 20 minutes, with all but five starters completing every circuit.
On the move: Jeremy Shaw of Millport, Ala., started 17th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer Jr.’s Henderson Motorsports Longhorn Chassis has a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from Phillips CPA Firm, Mesilla Valley Transportation, L and D Trucking, M&M Paint and Construction, Keith Hammett Trucking & Construction, Pontiac RV, High Tech Special Effects, Merrell Bonding, Tye Twarog Racing, FK Rod Ends, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Allstar Performance, Eibach Springs, Accu Force, Wiles, Bert Transmission, Performance Bodies, XS Battery, Hooker Harness, Bell Helmets, FSR Racing, Outerwear’s, Beyea Headers, Strange Oval, Hoosier Tire South, Midwest Sheet Metal and New Vision Graphics.
Points chase: After Magnolia Friday: 1. Billy Moyer Jr. (1,250); 2. B.J. Robinson (1,197); 3. Kyle Beard (1,196); 4. Hunter Rasdon (1,131); 5. Morgan Bagley (1,081).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 46
Fast qualifier: Clay Stuckey
Time: 13.868 seconds
Polesitter: Billy Moyer Jr.
Heat race winners: Billy Moyer Jr., Evan Ellis, Ashton Winger, Haiden Cowan
Consolation race winners: Jeremy Shaw, Donald Johns
Provisional starters: Hunter Rasdon, Brian Rickman, Jarret Stuckey, Jamie Burford
Next series race: September 23, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS) $12,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moyer Jr., Winger
Row 2: Ellis, H. Cowan
Row 3: C. Stuckey, Daspit
Row 4: Seawright, Baggett
Row 5: Dillard, Skinner
Row 6: Elam, McCoy
Row 7: Crigler, Fisher
Row 8: Moyer, Robinson
Row 9: Shaw, D. Johns
Row 10: Oberkramer, Beard
Row 11: Bagley, Mitchell
Row 12: Rasdon, B. Rickman
Row 13: J. Stuckey, Burford

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information