Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/23/2024 16:48:33

Sponsor 743
September 22
Sycamore Speedway,
Maple Park, IL
Sanction: Wabam Dirt Kings Tour (Summer Sizzler) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 23, 10:35 pm)
Bell secures Sycamore's $3,000 Summer Sizzler
Summer Sizzler
  1. Rich Bell
  2. Dale Markham
  3. Troy Springborn
  4. Jordan Yaggy
  5. Brad Mueller
  6. Kyle Raddant
  7. Ron Berna
  8. Titus Sneed
  9. Brett Swedberg
  10. Jaden Fryer
  11. Jayden Schmidt
  12. Bill Edler
  13. Turk Letizia
  14. Greg Cantrell
  15. Joel Bennett
  16. Joe Bongiorno
  17. Lukas Postl
  18. Justin Green
  19. Randy Manos Jr.
  20. Dan White
  21. Mitch McGrath
presented by
Branden Aeling/B.A Racing Photos
Rich Bell takes the checkers for his first Dirt Kings victory.
What won the race: Using an outside move to take the point from early pacesetter Dale Markham on lap 11, sixth-starting Rich Bell of Sheffield, Ill., led the final 20 laps to win Friday's $3,000 Summer Sizzler at Sycamore Speedway. Earning his first career Wabam Dirt Kings Tour victory, Bell became the 26th winner in series history and the first from the state of Illinois.
Key notes: Pole-starting Mitch McGrath used an inside move to take the point from Markham on lap four and led until breaking a driveshaft on the seventh lap, handing the lead back to Markham; McGrath pulled off and was credited with 21st. ... The second-starting Markham, of Maple Park, Ill., led twice for seven laps (1-3, 7-10) before being overtaken by Bell and settling for the runner-up spot, 1.148 seconds back. ... Troy Springborn regained third on lap 17 and completed the podium. ... Jordan Yaggy improved three positions and finished fourth. ... After winning the consolation, Brett Swedberg gained seven spots and finished ninth. ... Justin Green utilized a provisional starting position after flipping in his heat race; Green ran as high as 16th before tangling with Lukas Postl and Bill Edler on lap 22 to draw the race's third and final caution. ... Friday's 16-minute feature saw 14 drivers complete 30 laps, with 17 running at the finish. ... After sustaining damage in his heat race, Taylor Scheffler scratched. ... The Wabam Dirt Kings Tour concludes its 2023 season with Saturday's $2,000-to-win finale at Plymouth Dirt Track in Plymouth, Wis.
On the move: Kyle Raddant of Shawano, Wis., started 13th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Bell’s Rocket Chassis carries sponsorship from Dorothy and Readus Quickle, Bell’s Transmissions, Galva Iron & Metal, Pat & Jen Reinbeck, Randy Hasbrook, Just Another Day Transport, MJ Seed, Straightline Ag, Michlig Energy, Cafe 129, Red’s Bar and Grill, Kevin & Laurie Glieden, Bates Garage, Randy Sommer, Bivins and Sons Trucking, Sheffield Locker, Fastlane Wraps and Nightowl Designs.
Points chase: Before Sycamore: : 1. Nick Anvelink (500); 2. Troy Springborn (422); 3. Mike Mullen (406); 4. Brett Swedberg (378); 5. Justin Ritchie (358).
Current weather: Overcast, 68°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Dale Markham
Time: 14.027 seconds
Polesitter: Dale Markham
Heat race winners: Dale Markham, Troy Springborn, Mitch McGrath
Consolation race winners: Brett Swedberg
Provisional starters: Lukas Postl, Justin Green
Next series race: September 23, Plymouth Dirt Track (Plymouth, WI) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McGrath, Markham
Row 2: Springborn, Mueller
Row 3: Berna, Bell
Row 4: Yaggy, Sneed
Row 5: Letizia, Scheffler
Row 6: Manos Jr., Fryer
Row 7: Raddant, White
Row 8: Cantrell, Swedberg
Row 9: Edler, Bongiorno
Row 10: Bennett, Ja. Schmidt
Row 11: Postl, Green

Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information