Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/23/2024 18:38:49

Sponsor 743
September 3
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Hall of Fame Race) - $7,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 4, 8:40 pm)
Cherokee's Clash stop goes to Zack Mitchell
Hall of Fame Race
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Jeff Smith
  3. Trent Ivey
  4. Christian Thomas
  5. Jordan Koehler
  6. Cla Knight
  7. Ben Watkins
  8. Brent Dixon
  9. Gray Parton
  10. Dennis Franklin
  11. David McCoy
  12. David Yandle
  13. Greg Clark
  14. Benji Hicks
  15. Rich Kuiken
  16. Doug Sanders
  17. Anthony Sanders
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Zack Mitchell enjoys a crowded victory lane at Cherokee.
What won the race: Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., led all 50 caution-free laps Sunday at Cherokee Speedway for a $7,500 victory in the Hall of Fame Race on the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series. Mitchell notched his first Clash triumph of the season and 13th of his career in taking the checkers 1.867 seconds ahead of Jeff Smith.
Quotable: "We've let a couple of races get away from us this year, especially a couple of them over here," Mitchell said in victory lane. "It means a lot to be standing up here. This thing's just been on a rail."
Key notes: Mitchell, who has five feature victories overall in 2023, picked up a $1,000 bonus for leading lap 44 from Brett Coltman, MPM Marketing and the Lee McCallister family. ... The race lasted less than 15 minutes in a rare caution-free event at Cherokee, a track where tire wear often plays a role in special events. ... The night's Hall of Fame inductees were Lee McCallister, Mary Gault, Steve’s Head Shed and Max Doggett. ... Cherokee hosts the Carolina Clash Series for the third and final time this season on Nov. 19 for a $20,000-to-win event.
On the move: David Yandle of Monroe, N.C., started 16th and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood, Inc., SoCar Chemical, Charles West Grading, Rolling Pines Lawn & Landscaping, Hoosier Tire, Fox Racing Shocks and DirtCarLift.
Points chase: After Cherokee: 1. Ben Watkins (1,005); 2. Gray Parton (908); 3. Jeff Smith (797); 4. David Yandle (771); 5. Benji Hicks (722).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 14.915 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Next series race: September 16, County Line Raceway (Elm City, NC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, Smith
Row 2: Ivey, Hicks
Row 3: Thomas, Koehler
Row 4: Watkins, Knight
Row 5: Parton, Dixon
Row 6: McCoy, Franklin
Row 7: Clark, A. Sanders
Row 8: D. Sanders, Yandle
Row 9: Kuiken
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information