Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1278
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 19:08:28

Sponsor 743
August 26
Ultimate Motorsports Park,
Elkin, NC
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series - $7,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 31, 12:34 am)
McIntosh wins finale, Milliken crowned champ
  1. Donald McIntosh
  2. Jimmy Owens
  3. Ben Watkins
  4. Carson Ferguson
  5. Gray Parton
  6. Willie Milliken
  7. Matthew Nance
  8. Jamison McBride
  9. Adam Yarbrough
  10. Dennis Franklin
  11. Tommy Jones
  12. Haiden Cowan
  13. Jordan Koehler
  14. Matt Long
  15. Steve Blackburn
  16. Daniel Adam
  17. David Yandle
  18. Benji Hicks
  19. Ross Bailes
  20. Anthony Sanders
  21. Doug Sanders
  22. Jeff Smith
  23. Christian Thomas
  24. Caleb Fulp
presented by
Austin Bumgarner
Donald McIntosh grabbed an Ultimate Southeast victory in Elkin, N.C.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when race-long pacesetter Jordan Koehler sustained a flat tire on lap 28, fourth-starting Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., led the final 13 circuits to win Saturday's $7,500 Ultimate Southeast Series stop at the newly reopened and renamed Ultimate Motorsports Park. McIntosh earned his first victory aboard the Billy Hicks-owned Double Nickel Race Car and notched his sixth career Ultimate Southeast Series triumph - his first since March 13, 2020, at North Georgia Speedway.
Key notes: Second-starting Koehler, of Mount Airy, N.C., led the first 27 laps before his flat drew the race's second caution and knocked him out of contention; Koehler rallied to finish 13th after changing the tire. ... Ninth-starting Jimmy Owens moved into the runner-up spot on a lap-34 restart and trailed McIntosh the rest of the way, finishing 1.211 seconds back. ... After transferring through a consolation, two-time feature winner Ben Watkins finished third. ... Two-time Schaeffer's Spring Nationals champion Carson Ferguson ran as high as second before fading to finish fourth. ... Fresh off last Saturday's $4,000 Carolina Clash Series victory, pole-starting Gray Parton finished fifth. ... Willie Milliken finished sixth, clinching his first series championship and received $11,500, as he also earned rookie of the year honors. ... Second-running Benji Hicks drew the race's third and final caution when he slapped the wall on lap 33, ending his night. ... Entering as the series points leader, Anthony Sanders broke a driveshaft on lap 11 and pulled off. ... Delayed by rain, Saturday's feature lasted 24 minutes with 16 competitors completing 40 laps and 17 running at the finish. ... After appearing to qualify fourth in the group two, Kyle Strickler's time was disallowed when it was discovered that he used unapproved tires; Strickler started in the back of the second consolation and missed the transfer by one position. ... John Eller of Oxford, N.C., won Saturday's $800 non-qualifier's race.
On the move: Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C. started 12th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: McIntosh drove a Billy Hicks-owned Double Nickel Race Car powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by H&H Auto Sales, Ultimate Towing & Recovery and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: After Ultimate Motorsports Park (final 2023): 1. Willie Milliken (314); 2. Dennis Franklin (311); 3. Anthony Sanders (306); 4. Christian Thomas (232); 5. Ben Watkins (231).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Gray Parton
Time: 15.647 seconds
Polesitter: Gray Parton
Consolation race winners: Christian Thomas, Ben Watkins
Provisional starters: David Yandle, Doug Sanders
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Parton, J. Koehler
Row 2: Ca. Ferguson, McIntosh
Row 3: Milliken, McBride
Row 4: Nance, Hicks
Row 5: Owens, H. Cowan
Row 6: Thomas, Watkins
Row 7: Yarbrough, Franklin
Row 8: Jones, A. Sanders
Row 9: Smith, Fulp
Row 10: Bailes, Adam
Row 11: Blackburn, Long
Row 12: Yandle, D. Sanders

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information