Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/18/2024 05:46:13

Sponsor 743
August 24
Georgetown Speedway,
Georgetown, DE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Melvin L. Joseph Memorial) - $18,049
Information provided by: Kevin Kovac, Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated August 25, 8:09 am)
Late-race rally earns RTJ $18,049 at Georgetown
Melvin L. Joseph Memorial
  1. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Mike Marlar
  4. Tyler Erb
  5. Garrett Alberson
  6. Devin Moran
  7. Tim McCreadie
  8. Gregg Satterlee
  9. Hudson O'Neal
  10. Jonathan Davenport
  11. Ross Robinson
  12. Cody Overton
  13. Max Blair
  14. Daulton Wilson
  15. Spencer Hughes
  16. Kyle Hardy
  17. Boom Briggs
  18. Earl Pearson Jr.
  19. Trevor Collins
  20. Donald Lingo Jr.
  21. Rick Eckert
  22. Drake Troutman
  23. Nick Davis
  24. Matt Cosner
  25. Dan Stone
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Ricky Thornton Jr. rallied late and led the final nine laps at Georgetown.
What won the race: Restarting in sixth with 14 laps remaining, fourth-starting Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., rallied to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series debut at Georgetown Speedway, overtaking Brandon Overton to pace the final nine circuits of Thursday's Melvin L. Joseph Memorial. The series points leader earned $18,049 and his series-leading 12th full-field victory this season.
Quotable: “I started running the top down there (in turns three and four) and I felt like I could kinda run up to the guys in front of me,” Thornton said. “I wasn’t good enough to get by them down in (turns) one and two and I really didn’t know if I needed to restart on the top or the bottom; I was kinda glad I really did restart on the bottom.”
Key notes: After leading 23 laps, Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., finished second, 2.840 seconds back. ... Behind the wheel of his Ronnie Delk-owned Longhorn Chassis, Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., finished third. ... Fifth-place finisher Garrett Alberson led the opening 17 laps before Overton made a three-wide pass for the lead on a lap-18 restart. ... Hudson O'Neal rallied to finish ninth after slowing on lap 36 with a flat right front tire. ... Hometown driver Ross Robinson started 19th and finished 11th. ... A multicar incident on lap two of the lone consolation brought out a red flag, involving Matt Sheppard of Waterloo, N.Y., whose car flipped down the backstretch. The big-block modified regular climbed out of his Niece Motorsports teammate Ross Chastain's No. 41 entry under his own power, after suffering engine issues in his mount prior to time trials. ... Late Models began rolling back on the track to pack and run hot laps at 9 p.m. after a series of rain showers. ... The race honoring the track founder was slowed by five cautions and lasted nearly 27 minutes. ... NASCAR veteran Jimmy Spencer of Berwick, Pa., served as the event's grand marshal. ... Thursday's feature lasted 27 minutes with 16 drivers completing the entire distance and 19 running at the finish.
On the move: Cody Overton of Evans, Ga., started 24th and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Thornton’s SSI Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements engine and sponsored by Dyno One, Hoker Trucking, Certified Inspection Service, High Performance Lubricants, Big River Steel, Van Meter Insurance Group, Murty Farms, D&E Outside Services, West Side Tractor Sales, Bilstein Shocks, FK Rod Ends, Allstar Performance, Barnes Pumps, Performance Bodies, Winters Performance, Strange Oval, Accu-Force, Quickcar, Sunoco Race Fuels and Sub-Surface of Indiana.
Points chase: After Georgetown: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr. (6,240); 2. Hudson O’Neal (5,825); 3. Jonathan Davenport (5,545); 4. Brandon Overton (5,470); 5. Tim McCreadie (5,430); 6. Devin Moran (5,375); 7. Daulton Wilson (4,920); 8. Tyler Erb (4,915); 9. Max Blair (4,895); 10. Earl Pearson Jr. (4,855).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 70°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Brandon Overton
Time: 17.117 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Overton
Heat race winners: Brandon Overton, Mike Marlar, Garrett Alberson, Ricky Thornton Jr.
Consolation race winners: Jonathan Davenport
Provisional starters: Boom Briggs, Cody Overton, Nick Davis
Next series race: August 26, Port Royal Speedway (Port Royal, PA) $50,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: B. Overton, Alberson
Row 2: Marlar, Thornton Jr.
Row 3: T. Erb, Satterlee
Row 4: Blair, Moran
Row 5: Wilson, Hardy
Row 6: McCreadie, Troutman
Row 7: O'Neal, Hughes
Row 8: Cosner, Lingo Jr.
Row 9: Davenport, Pearson Jr.
Row 10: Robinson, Eckert
Row 11: Collins, Stone
Row 12: Briggs, C. Overton
Row 13: Davis

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information