Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/16/2024 22:07:20

Sponsor 743
August 19
Deer Creek Speedway,
Spring Valley, MN
Sanction: Wabam Dirt Kings Tour (Deer Creek 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 25, 1:54 am)
Sorensen secures flag-to-flag win at Deer Creek
Deer Creek 40
  1. Dustin Sorensen
  2. Tyler Bruening
  3. Nick Anvelink
  4. James Giossi
  5. Troy Springborn
  6. Nick Panitzke
  7. Brad Mueller
  8. Chad Mahder
  9. Lance Matthees
  10. Jesse Glenz
  11. Kyle Raddant
  12. Justin Ritchie
  13. Lukas Postl
  14. Mike Mullen
  15. Taylor Scheffler
  16. Brett Swedberg
  17. Jared Siefert
  18. Mitch McGrath
  19. Jake Miller
  20. Sam Mars
  21. Justin Reed
  22. Lance Hofer
  23. Ron Berna
  24. Spencer Diercks
presented by
Chad Marquardt
Tight action during the Deer Creek Speedway feature.
What won the race: Pole-starting Dustin Sorensen of Rochester, Minn., appeared to tangle with a lapped car and spin on lap 27 before a tap-out ruling allowed him to retain the lead and score a flag-to-flag victory in Saturday's $5,000 Deer Creek 40 feature. Sorensen earned his second career Wabam Dirt Kings Tour triumph and his first since collecting $5,000 on July 3, 2020, at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.
Quotable: “They were telling us on the Raceceiver some of the lapped guys that we were coming. I figured he saw me, he would’ve lifted,” Sorensen said. “After the fact, (Taylor Scheffler) told them it was his fault, so that was pretty cool of him, I guess. Thanks to him for owning up to it. That was a workout man, I was running the top as hard as I could the whole race, holding nothing back. Glad we could get it done.”
Key notes: While running 14th and being lapped on lap 27, Taylor Scheffler made contact with Sorensen and caused him to spin. Tyler Bruening assumed the race lead under yellow and began pacing the field while Sorensen continued and tagged the tail. After several laps of caution it was announced that Scheffler took complete responsibility for the incident, meaning Sorensen was absolved of any involvement, allowing him to regain the lead. Deer Creek Speedway announcers referred to this as a "gentleman's agreement" and the "tap-out rule" meaning one driver can completely absolve another if they take 100 percent responsibility for a caution-causing incident. ... Tyler Bruening and Nick Anvelink briefly pressured Sorensen on the ensuing restart then battled eachother with Bruening prevailing to finish second and Anvelink in third. ... Ninth-starting James Giossi finished fourth. ... Running as a teammate to Sorensen, Sam Mars pulled off on lap 27 while running 12th.
On the move: Troy Springborn of Shawano, Wis., started 16th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Sorensen’s Mars-owned MB Customs Race Car is powered by a Pro Power Racing engine and sponsored by Veit, Vonco, Deppe Enterprises, T.L. Sinz Plumbing, Keyes Chevytown USA, Accurate Construction, Armi Contractors, Mid-States Equipment, Baileigh Industrial, S&S Transport, QualityFreightRate, Groveyard Auto, Joe Signs, VP Racing Fuels and Joe Provo Race Wear.
Points chase: After Deer Creek: 1. Nick Anvelink (384); 2. Mike Mullen (334); 3. Troy Springborn (304); 4. Brett Swedberg (282); 5. Justin Ritchie (268).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 82°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Dustin Sorensen
Time: 15.073 seconds
Polesitter: Dustin Sorensen
Heat race winners: Chad Mahder, Dustin Sorensen, Tyler Bruening, Nick Anvelink
Consolation race winners: Taylor Scheffler, Lance Matthees
Provisional starters: Mike Mullen, Justin Ritchie, Lukas Postl, Kyle Raddant
Next series race: August 25, Plymouth Dirt Track (Plymouth, WI) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Sorensen, Anvelink
Row 2: Mahder, Bruening
Row 3: S. Mars, Mueller
Row 4: Swedberg, Diercks
Row 5: Giossi, Panitzke
Row 6: Glenz, Miller
Row 7: McGrath, Berna
Row 8: Reed, Springborn
Row 9: Scheffler, Matthees
Row 10: Hofer, Siefert
Row 11: Mullen, Ritchie
Row 12: Postl, Raddant

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information