Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 21:43:40

Sponsor 743
August 18
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series (Gary Gerstner Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 19, 8:29 am)
Jackson wires Tri-City's Gerstner Memorial
Gary Gerstner Memorial
  1. Tony Jackson Jr.
  2. Cody Laney
  3. Gordy Gundaker
  4. Mike Harrison
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Bob Gardner
  7. Kye Blight
  8. Jeff Herzog
  9. Ryan Unzicker
  10. Trevor Gundaker
  11. Kyle Hammer
  12. Blaze Burwell
  13. Billy Laycock
  14. Dustin Hodges
  15. Rusty Griffaw
  16. Justin White
  17. Michael Kloos
  18. Paul Kuper
  19. Tucker Finch
  20. Mark Voigt
  21. Brian Diveley
  22. Dylan Thompson
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Tony Jackson Jr. stands victorious in Tri-City Speedway victory lane.
What won the race: Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., rolled to a flag-to-flag victory in Friday night's second annual Gary Gerstner Memorial at Tri-City Speedway. He beat Californian Cody Laney to the checkered flag by 1.095 seconds for the $5,000 top prize in the 30-lap feature sanctioned by the MARS Championship Series.
Quotable: "I didn’t really want to have to drive that hard, but Gordy was good, and them guys kept showing me their nose,” Jackson said. “I wanna thank (Capital’s) Marshall Green and Shane Clanton. They come down and we did a lot of work on this thing this week. We’ve kind of been struggling and we’re definitely going in the right direction.”
Key notes: The polesitting Jackson repelled early challenges from Gordy Gundaker and a late threat from Laney to emerge triumphant. He remained committed to the high line throughout the distance, banging his right-rear off the wall several times on his way to his first victory of the 2023 season. … It was Jackson’s 20th career win on the MARS tour. ... The fourth-starting Laney moved into second on lap 16 and stayed there to the finish for a career-best MARS finish. … Gordy Gundaker, who won July's $5,000 MARS event at Peveley, Mo., settled for third place at the track owned and promoted by his parents. … After winning July's $5,000 DIRTcar Summer Nationals stop at Tri-City, sixth-starting Mike Harrison reached fourth on lap seven and finished there. … MARS points leader Jason Feger pressured Harrison in the closing laps but crossed the finish line in fifth. … Dylan Thompson drew the race's only caution on lap four when he slowed to a stop in turn three on the third lap. … Friday's 30-lap feature lasted 13 minutes with 12 drivers completing the distance and 16 running at the finish. … The event honored Gary Gerstner of Breese, Ill., a former Land of Lincoln racer and team owner who died on Dec. 13, 2020, at the age of 66. … MARS competitors return to Tri-City for two $5,000-to-win shows on Sept. 22-23.
On the move: Justin White of Stevensville, Mich., started 21st and finished 16th.
Winner's sponsors: Jackson’s Capital Race Car was powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Willard Quarries, Superior Power, Elite Auto Complex, Lebanon Ready-Mix, Stop-Tech, Merrill Bonding Co., Five Star Bodies, Gorsuch Performance and Sunoco Race Fuels.
Points chase: After Tri-City: 1. Jason Feger (781); 2. Ryan Unzicker (750); 3. Mike Harrison (631); 4. Bob Gardner (589); 5. Blaze Burwell (525).
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Kye Blight
Time: 14.608 seconds
Polesitter: Tony Jackson Jr.
Heat race winners: Gordy Gundaker, Mike Harrison, Cody Laney
Consolation race winners: Paul Kuper
Provisional starters: Justin White, Tucker Finch
Next series race: August 19, Highland Speedway (Highland, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Jackson, G. Gundaker
Row 2: Gardner, Laney
Row 3: Blight, Harrison
Row 4: Feger, Herzog
Row 5: Hodges, Unzicker
Row 6: Burwell, T. Gundaker
Row 7: Kloos, Hammer
Row 8: Thompson, Kuper
Row 9: Laycock, Voigt
Row 10: Griffaw, Diveley
Row 11: White, Finch

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information