Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 03:35:43

Sponsor 743
July 1
I-94 EMR Speedway,
Fergus Falls, MN
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Fergus Falls Showdown) - $15,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated July 2, 10:29 am)
Pierce sails to $15,000 Fergus Falls WoO victory
Fergus Falls Showdown
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Tanner English
  4. Ryan Gustin
  5. Dennis Erb Jr.
  6. Chris Madden
  7. Kyle Bronson
  8. Nick Hoffman
  9. Mike Marlar
  10. Brian Shirley
  11. Dustin Sorensen
  12. Johnny Scott
  13. Brent Larson
  14. Tyler Peterson
  15. Shane Clanton
  16. Blair Nothdurft
  17. Nick Panitzke
  18. Todd Cooney
  19. Chad Mahder
  20. Shawn Meyer
  21. Cade Dillard
  22. James Giossi
  23. Gordy Gundaker
  24. Dustin Walker
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Bobby Pierce led the final 30 laps to secure his fifth WoO victory of the year.
What won the race: Powering around Dennis Erb Jr. with the leader held up by slower traffic, third-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., grabbed the lead on lap 21 and dominated the rest of the way in Saturday's 50-lap Fergus Falls Showdown at I-94 EMR Speedway. The 26-year-old star earned $15,000 for his fifth World of Outlaws Case Late Models victory of the season and the ninth of his career while extending his points lead.
Quotable: "I knew right away when we got here and made some laps on it, I was like, 'Man, this place reminds me of Florence (Speedway in Union, Ky.),” Pierce said. “I said these boys are in trouble tonight if we can hit our marks and hit the setup right ... the car was very maneuverable. My Dad was telling me to get on the bottom like crazy, I just didn’t want to. I liked it up on the top."
Key notes: Ninth-starting Brandon Sheppard steadily marched through the field and and grabbed the runner-up position from Tanner English with an outside sweep on lap 47, but he finished a distant 3.440 seconds behind Pierce. ... English moved into second on a lap-31 restart but never challenged Pierce before being overtaken by Sheppard and finishing third. ... After winning Friday's $12,000 stop at River Cities Speedway, Ryan Gustin advanced 11 positions and finished fourth. ... Pole-starting Dennis Erb Jr. led laps 7-20 but settled for fifth. ... Switching to the same car he finished second with at Eldora's Dream, Chris Madden started and finished sixth. ... Mike Marlar, the winner of Thursday's $10,000 stop at Red River Valley Speedway, ran as high as third in the early laps before fading to ninth. ... After leading the first six laps, Cade Dillard drew the race's only caution when he retired on lap 30. ... After a lengthy track reconditioning, the feature went green just before 11:30 p.m. and lasted 17 minutes with 14 competitors completing 50 laps. ... Ending the Heartland Speedweek of seven races over nine days, WoO teams have nearly two weeks off before July 14's $15,000-to-win event Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky.
On the move: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, started 15th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Hoker Trucking LLC, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Bloomington Normal Truck Performance, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Vic Hill Race Engines, Swift Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Toyota of Danville, Ted Brown’s Quality Paint and Body Shop, Extreme Electric, Inc., Performance Bodies, A Plus Vacuum, Lekg Tree Service, Bert Transmission by Budda, Velocita-USA, Robert and Sons Aluminum, VP Racing Fuels and FK Rod Ends.
Points chase: After I-94: 1. Bobby Pierce (3,146); 2. Chris Madden (3,094); 3. Ryan Gustin (3,092); 4. Nick Hoffman (3,078); 5. Kyle Bronson (3,070); 6. Brandon Sheppard (3,046); 7. Brian Shirley (3,024); 8. Tanner English (2,982); 9. Dennis Erb Jr. (2,940); 10. Shane Clanton (2,902).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 75°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 16.490 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Erb Jr.
Heat race winners: Chris Madden, Mike Marlar, Cade Dillard
Consolation race winners: Brent Larson
Provisional starters: Dustin Walker, James Giossi
Next series race: July 14, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Erb, Dillard
Row 2: Pierce, English
Row 3: Marlar, Madden
Row 4: Hoffman, Clanton
Row 5: Sheppard, Bronson
Row 6: Sorensen, Shirley
Row 7: Nothdurft, Peterson
Row 8: Gustin, J. Scott
Row 9: Mahder, G. Gundaker
Row 10: B. Larson, Panitzke
Row 11: Cooney, Meyer
Row 12: Walker, Giossi
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information