Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 12:48:04

Sponsor 743
June 24
Whynot Motorsports Park,
Meridian, MS
Sanction: Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 27, 2:30 am)
Baggett bangs boards for $5,000 at Whynot
  1. Neil Baggett
  2. Payton Freeman
  3. Josh Putnam
  4. Wil Herrington
  5. Kyle Beard
  6. Evan Ellis
  7. Trey Mills
  8. David McCoy
  9. John Henderson
  10. Joseph Joiner
  11. Nick Thrash
  12. Dillon Tidmore
  13. Ryan Crane
  14. Brenden Smith
  15. Richie Stephens
  16. Mike Palasini Jr.
  17. Brian Rickman
  18. Kenny Collins
  19. Jeremy Shaw
  20. Dalton Cook
  21. Will Roland
  22. Bo Slay
  23. Clay Fisher
  24. Rick Rickman
presented by
Chris McDill
Neil Baggett picked up a $5,000 check at Whynot Motorsports Park.
What won the race: Rim-riding around the extreme high line of Whynot Motorsports Park, seventh-starting Neil Baggett of Columbus, Miss., took the lead on a lap-34 restart and led the final seven laps, winning Saturday's $5,000 Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series and Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series co-sanctioned feature. Baggett secured his ninth career MSCCS victory and his first with the first-year Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series.
Quotable: “Man I appreciate it, car was good,” Baggett said. “Sometimes luck’s gotta go your way, ya know, I’m sorry for getting emotional. These races are hard to win, they are and it’s my favorite place in the world, but I love (track-owner) Rodney (Wing) and I love this track. If I could win anywhere, I would rather win this $5,000 than the (Dirt Late Model) Dream; I mean not money-wise, but hypothetically. I mean, I love this place, I got more friends down here than I got at my hometown.”
Key notes: Payton Freeman led laps 32 and 33 before giving way to Baggett and finishing 1.471 seconds back, notching his second runner-up finish in as many nights. ... Josh Putnam threatened for the lead in the early laps before finishing third. ... Hunt the Front series points leader Wil Herrington started and finished fourth. ... Evan Ellis led laps three through 31 before fading to finish sixth. ... A night after winning his first career Super Late Model main event, 15-year-old Trey Mills advanced seven positions and finished seventh. ... John Henderson gained eight spots and finished ninth. ... Joseph Joiner started 21st and finished 10th. ... Richie Stephens led the first two laps from the pole before fading to finish 15th. ... Mikey Kile scratched for the evening after experiencing a scary rollover crash in his heat race; Kile was unhurt. ... Saturday's co-sanctioned feature was slowed by seven cautions and lasted 38 minutes, with 15 competitors completing all 40 laps.
On the move: Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., started 18th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Baggett’s Prate Montgomery-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens engine and sponsored by Montgomery Farms, Jamie’s Body Shop, RTC Recovery, Doug's Auto Sales, Shon's Painting, King Motor Company and Advanced Logistics.
Points chase: After Whynot Saturday (HTF, reflects drop): 1. Wil Herrington (466); 2. Josh Putnam (456); 3. Joseph Joiner (440); 4. Trey Mills (434); 5. Payton Freeman (426); After Whynot Saturday (MSCCS): 1. Joseph Joiner (375); 2. Kyle Beard (350); 3. Neil Baggett (315); 4. Brian Rickman (295); 5. Rick Rickman (250).
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Richie Stephens
Time: 12.714 seconds
Polesitter: Richie Stephens
Heat race winners: Richie Stephens, Wil Herrington, Evan Ellis, Josh Putnam
Consolation race winners: John Henderson, Kyle Beard
Provisional starters: Joseph Joiner, Brian Rickman, Bo Slay, Rick Rickman
Next series race: July 1, Senoia Raceway (Senoia, GA) $10,000
Editor's note: Editor's note: fixes HTF point standings.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stephens, Putnam
Row 2: Ellis, Herrington
Row 3: Freeman, McCoy
Row 4: Baggett, Collins
Row 5: Shaw, Crane
Row 6: Tidmore, Roland
Row 7: Fisher, Mills
Row 8: Palasini Jr., N. Thrash
Row 9: Henderson, Beard
Row 10: Cook, Smith
Row 11: Joiner, B. Rickman
Row 12: Slay, R. Rickman

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information