Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 00:27:00

Sponsor 743
June 22
Cresco Speedway,
Cresco, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Mike Reufer and series and track reports (last updated June 23, 9:41 am)
Aikey, 60, rules Cresco: 'I'm still going baby!'
  1. Jeff Aikey
  2. Charlie McKenna
  3. Derrick Stewart
  4. Jason Hahne
  5. Chad Holladay
  6. Luke Pestka
  7. Curt Schroeder
  8. Lance Matthees
  9. Dave Eckrich
  10. Curt Martin
  11. Matt Ryan
  12. Luke Goedert
  13. Darrel DeFrance
  14. Gabe Umbarger
  15. Curtis Glover
  16. Gavin Tarras
  17. Carson Brown
  18. Fred Remley
  19. Andy Eckrich
  20. Justin Kay
  21. Ron Boyse
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Jeff Aikey celebrates in Cresco's victory lane.
What won the race: Overtaking race-long leader and fellow front-row starter Charlie McKenna on the 18th lap, 60-year-old Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, grabbed his first Hoker Trucking Series victory of the season Thursday at Cresco Speedway. Aikey crossed the finish line 1.570 seconds ahead of McKenna in an event during the 129th Mighty Howard County Fair.
Quotable: "Oh I'm puffing like a billy goat," Aikey said in victory lane. "You could go all over that track. Broke a rear end last night running up front, got up at 6:30 this morning and worked our butts off. Sixty years old and I'm still going baby!"
Key notes: Aikey notched his fourth career Hoker Trucking Series victory and first since the 2021 opener at Marshalltown, Iowa. ... Series points leader Chad Holladay rounded out the top five. ... Fourteen of 21 starters completed 30 laps at the 4/10-mile oval. ... Jason Hahne, who won Wednesday’s series stop at Oskaloosa's Southern Iowa Speedway, finished fourth and moved up to second in the series points chase. ... Carson Brown of New London, N.C., a Delk Marlar Racing development driver, finished 17th.
On the move: Derrick Stewart of Ainsworth, Iowa, started sixth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Aikey’s Rick Dralle-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Red's Limo Service, RE/MAX Home Group (Rick Bauer), Simon's Trucking, Junk King, American Family Insurance (Gail King), Heartland Bank and Aschenbrenner Trucking.
Points chase: After Cresco: 1. Chad Holladay (2,066); 2. Jason Hahne (2,044); 3. Jeff Aikey (2,308); 4. Andy Eckrich (2,030); 5. Charlie McKenna (2,010).
Current weather: Clear, 79°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Charlie McKenna
Time: 17.945 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Aikey
Heat race winners: Andy Eckrich, Jeff Aikey, Charlie McKenna
Next series race: June 23, Fayette County Speedway (West Union, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Aikey, McKenna
Row 2: Pestka, Holladay
Row 3: A. Eckrich, Stewart
Row 4: Hahne, Remley
Row 5: Schroeder, Matthees
Row 6: D. Eckrich, Ryan
Row 7: Martin, Glover
Row 8: Goedert, Kay
Row 9: Tarras, Brown
Row 10: DeFrance, Umbarger
Row 11: Boyse

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information