Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 22:39:14

Sponsor 743
June 17
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (Wayne Gray Sr. Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 18, 4:35 pm)
Mitchell repels Watkins for Fayetteville's $10,000
Wayne Gray Sr. Memorial
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Ben Watkins
  3. Logan Roberson
  4. Anthony Sanders
  5. Benji Hicks
  6. Dennis Franklin
  7. Steve Banal
  8. Willie Milliken
  9. Adam Yarbrough
  10. Greg Clark
  11. Ethan Wilson
  12. Caleb Fulp
  13. Haiden Cowan
  14. Doug Sanders
  15. Christian Thomas
  16. Gavin Cowan
  17. Tommy Jones
  18. Jordan Koehler
  19. Carl Vaughn
  20. Daniel Tucker
  21. Henry Hornsby III
  22. Dustin Mitchell
  23. Jeff Smith
  24. Michael Rouse
  25. Gray Parton
presented by
Kevin Ritchie
Dustin Mitchell (8) and Jeff Smith (70) both got upside down at the outset of the main event. No injuries were reported.
What won the race: Second-starting Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., avoided a multi-car incident on the first lap and led all 50 circuits to win Saturday's $10,000 Wayne Gray Sr. Memorial at Fayetteville Motor Speedway. Mitchell notched his 16th career Ultimate Southeast Series victory, passing Chris Ferguson for second on the tour's all-time wins list.
Quotable: “We could fire off right there, I think we went a little bit softer with tires, I ain’t 100 percent sure what everyone had on, but I was good for about five or six laps,” Mitchell said. “I don’t know, it just started feeling like it was sliding all over the place, but man I just gotta thank everybody that’s got a hand on this thing.”
Key notes: Ben Watkins remained within striking distance of Mitchell for nearly the entire distance, finishing 0.804 of a second back. ... Twelfth-starting Logan Roberson used the high line to run as high as second on a lap-24 restart, before settling for third. ... Anthony Sanders advanced four positions and finished fourth. ... Ultimate Southeast Series points leader Dennis Franklin gained eight spots and finished sixth. ... Utilizing a backup car after his primary encountered mechanical trouble in his heat race, Willie Milliken moved forward 15 positions. ... Greg Clark also utilized a provisional starting position and finished 10th. ... Ethan Wilson used an emergency provisional, foregoing the $1,000-to-start minimum and finished 11th at his home track. ... The race initially went green just after 12:30 a.m. local time, before polesitter Dustin Mitchell spun in front of the field in turn one, collecting several drivers, including Jeff Smith, Michael Rouse and Gray Parton; Smith's right-side heavily impacted Mitchell's right-side, while receiving contact from other cars, lifting both cars off the ground and lazily toppling them over onto their roofs. While both drivers were unhurt, it took track officials more than 20 minutes for cleanup. ... Saturday's Wayne Gray Sr. Memorial was slowed by four separate incidents, including that 23-minute red flag and lasted 46 minutes overall, with 13 drivers completing all 50 laps. The race ended early Sunday morning, just shy of 1:30 a.m. local time.
On the move: Willie Milliken of Roanoke Rapids, N.C., started 23rd and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood, Inc., SoCar Chemical, Charles West Grading, Rolling Pines Lawn & Landscaping, Hoosier Tire, Fox Racing Shocks and DirtCarLift.
Points chase: Before Fayetteville: T1. Dennis Franklin (118); T1. Willie Milliken (118); 3. Anthony Sanders (114); 4. Greg Clark (107); 5. Ethan Wilson (105).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 73°F
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Dustin Mitchell
Time: 14.271 seconds
Polesitter: Dustin Mitchell
Heat race winners: Dustin Mitchell, Ben Watkins, Zack Mitchell, Jordan Koehler
Consolation race winners: Caleb Fulp, Doug Sanders
Provisional starters: Willie Milliken, Greg Clark, Ethan Wilson
Next series race: July 1, Senoia Raceway (Senoia, GA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Mitchell, Z. Mitchell
Row 2: Watkins, Koehler
Row 3: Smith, Hicks
Row 4: Rouse, A. Sanders
Row 5: Parton, G. Cowan
Row 6: Banal, Roberson
Row 7: H. Cowan, Franklin
Row 8: Yarbrough, Thomas
Row 9: Fulp, D. Sanders
Row 10: Jones, Vaughn
Row 11: Hornsby III, Tucker
Row 12: Milliken, Clark
Row 13: E. Wilson

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information