Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 14:07:11

Sponsor 743
June 17
Wythe Raceway,
Rural Retreat, VA
Sanction: Steel Block Bandits Dirt Late Model Challenge - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 18, 11:05 pm)
Neely grabs $5,000 Bandits victory in Wythe debut
  1. Austin Neely
  2. Brad Lowe
  3. Robbie Emory
  4. Dan Breuer
  5. Jeff Parsons
  6. Matt Long
  7. Tyler Bare
  8. Tyler Arrington
  9. Matt Glanden
  10. Samuel Bryant
  11. Dale Moore
  12. Derick Quade
  13. Derrick Rankin
  14. Brandon O'Neil
  15. Michael Alderman
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Austin Neely won $5,000 in his debut at Wythe Raceway.
What won the race: Pole-starting Austin Neely of Tazewell, Tenn., led all 35 laps unchallenged at Wythe Raceway, winning Saturday's $5,000 Steel Block Bandits Dirt Late Model Challenge Series feature. Neely became the fifth first-time Steel Block Bandits winner this year and the eighth winner in as many races as he captured his Wythe debut.
Quotable: “I was having Bristol flashbacks when I got behind that lapped car and I wasn’t going to let this one slip away,” a relieved Neely said. “I’ve never raced here but it has a lot of the same characteristics as (Volunteer Speedway) and (Tazewell Speedway), so I just drew my notes from that. This place is a lot of fun, it’s smooth and fast, great job by the track crew and thanks to all the fans who came out tonight.”
Key notes: Brad Lowe moved into the runner-up position on a lap-22 restart and trailed Neely the rest of the way, finishing over 11 seconds back. ... Seventh-starting Robbie Emory took third on lap 24 and completed the podium. ... Dan Breuer advanced six positions and finished fourth. ... After failing to finish his heat race and starting last, Tyler Bare gained eight spots and finished seventh. ... Series points leader Derick Quade ran as high as second in the early laps before retiring on lap 21 and finishing 12th. ... Saturday's feature, part of the 50th anniversary celebration for Wythe Raceway, was slowed by two cautions and lasted 15 minutes, with 11 drivers completing all 35 laps.
On the move: Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, Va., started 15th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Neely’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a DJ’s Performance Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Reece Monument Company, MRC Transport, Inc., First Century Bank, Giles Industries, Four Seasons Boat & RV Storage, Five Star Properties, Inc., Mary’s Home Furnishings, Clayton Homes of Middlesboro, Oakwood Surplus Barn, Thompson Insurance Group, Integrity Plumbing Solutions LLC, J&S Pressure Washing, Bayless Custom Creations, XS Power Batteries by Jed Emert, Visualink Creative and Team Fastlane Design & Graphics.
Points chase: After Wythe: 1. Derick Quade (333); 2. Tyler Bare (307); 3. Robbie Emory (302); 4. Dan Breuer (281); 5. Jeff Parsons (272).
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 15
Fast qualifier: Austin Neely
Time: 17.314 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Neely
Heat race winners: Austin Neely, Derick Quade
Next series race: July 14, Lavonia Speedway (Lavonia, GA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Neely, Quade
Row 2: Lowe, Parsons
Row 3: Long, Glanden
Row 4: Emory, Rankin
Row 5: Arrington, Breuer
Row 6: Moore, S. Bryant
Row 7: Alderman, O'Neil
Row 8: Bare

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information