Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 14:04:43

Sponsor 743
June 9
Clinton County Speedway,
Mill Hall, PA
Sanction: Appalachian Mountain Speedweek - $4,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated June 10, 10:47 am)
Covert captures AMS opener at Clinton County
  1. Jason Covert
  2. Gregg Satterlee
  3. Austin Berry
  4. Andrew Yoder
  5. Tyler Emory
  6. Dylan Yoder
  7. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  8. Matt Cosner
  9. Kyle Hardy
  10. Bryan Bernheisel
  11. Rick Eckert
  12. Jim Yoder
  13. Dan Stone
  14. Coleby Frye
  15. Dylan Cecce
  16. Jeff Rine
  17. Shaun Jones
  18. Hayes Mattern
  19. Matt Cochran
  20. Travis Stickley
  21. J.R. Toner
  22. Jeremy Ohl
  23. Drake Troutman
  24. Larry Neiderer
  25. Dillan Stake
presented by
Barry Lenhart
Jason Covert hoists the winning check on opening night of Appalachian Mountain Speedweek.
What won the race: Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., passed polesitter Drake Troutman on lap 10 and controlled the final 26 laps for Friday's victory in Appalachian Mountain Speedweek's return at Clinton County Speedway in Mill Hall, Pa. Covert, the $4,000 winner, beat Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., by 0.773 of a second on a two-lap dash to the finish.
Quotable: “This place, I grew up racing like this. I have a knack for feeling these kinds of places. I’m two-for-two so I may not come back," said Covert, whose first and only other Clinton County start in April 2000 ended in victory lane. "It’s so special. I want to thank all my crew guys, Shannon (Jenkins), Bryan (Klinedinst), my wife Jaynelle. … I also want to thank Robby Allen and my nephew Drew (Covert Walters) who works with Gregg Satterlee. They’ve been a big help to me. You get lost in racing, and sometimes you need to be found.”
Key notes: Drake Troutman of Hyndman, Pa., paced the opening nine laps from the pole after topping the two-lap timed dash but dropped out of the race with a flat right-rear tire with three laps to go. ... Jason Covert's fourth career Appalachian Mountain Speedweek win moves him into a tie for third in all-time miniseries victories with Josh Richards and Tim McCreadie. ... Miniseries all-time leader in wins (six), Rick Eckert of York, Pa., started fifth and finished 11th. ... Friday marked the opening night of the eight-race Appalachian Mountain Speedweek that returns for the first time since 2017. ... Twelve drivers are anticipating to a full miniseries run: Austin Berry, Andrew Yoder, Bryan Bernheisel, Dan Stone, Dillan Stake, Dylan Yoder, Gregg Satterlee, Jason Covert, Jeff Rine, Justin Weaver, Rick Eckert and Tyler Emory. ... Troutman's stoppage on lap 33 was the lone caution of the main event that lasted 15 minutes. ... Dillan Stake of Mapleton Depot, Pa., was the race's first retiree on lap five while Larry Neiderer of Landisville, Pa., only completed eight laps. ... Sixteen of 25 starters finished on the lead lap.
On the move: Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., started ninth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Covert’s Barry Klinedinst-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsored by PhiVTech Solutions, High Line Shine, Pre-Mach Inc., Rehbein’s Service Center & Speed Shop, VP Racing Fuels, Fryeco Fabrication, Keyser Manufacturing, Baker Outlaw Fuel Systems, Jones Racing Products, Rocket Chassis, Integra Shocks.
Points chase: After Clinton County: 1. Jason Covert (155); 2. Austin Berry (122); 3. Gregg Satterlee (120); 4. Tyler Emory (115); 5. Andrew Yoder (110); 6. Dylan Yoder (108); 7. Eddie Carrier Jr. (91); T8. Rick Eckert (82); T8. Matt Cosner (82); 10. Kyle Hardy (81).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 55°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Jason Covert
Time: 13.903 seconds
Polesitter: Drake Troutman
Dash winner: Drake Troutman
Heat race winners: Andrew Yoder, Gregg Satterlee, Bryan Bernheisel, Jeff Rine
Consolation race winners: Dylan Cecce, Dan Stone
Provisional starters: J.R. Toner
Next series race: June 10, Port Royal Speedway (Port Royal, PA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Troutman, Berry
Row 2: Covert, D.Yoder
Row 3: Eckert, Emory
Row 4: A.Yoder, Bernheisel
Row 5: Satterlee, Rine
Row 6: Carrier, J.Yoder
Row 7: Hardy, Jones
Row 8: Cosner, Cochran
Row 9: Frye, Stickley
Row 10: Cecce, Stone
Row 11: Stake, Ohl
Row 12: Mattern, Neiderer
Row 13: Toner

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information