Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 13:16:21

Sponsor 743
June 3
Virginia Motor Speedway,
Jamaica, VA
Sanction: Steel Block Bandits Dirt Late Model Challenge (Commonwealth Clash) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 4, 11:03 pm)
Cody Overton collects first Bandits win at VMS
Commonwealth Clash
  1. Cody Overton
  2. Tyler Bare
  3. Tyler Arrington
  4. Brent Robinson
  5. Derick Quade
  6. Jeff Parsons
  7. Brad Lowe
  8. Jamie Lathroum
  9. Dustin Mitchell
  10. Samuel Bryant
  11. Sam Archer
  12. Michael Alderman
  13. Derrick Rankin
  14. Russell Erwin
  15. Kyle Lear
  16. Dan Breuer
  17. Walker Arthur
  18. Michael Batten
  19. David Williams
  20. Matt Glanden
  21. Corey Almond
  22. Brad Rigdon
  23. Robbie Emory
  24. Josh Canipe
presented by
Jamie Brabson/jbhotshots.com
Cody Overton was all smiles in victory lane at VMS.
What won the race: Second-starting Cody Overton of Evans, Ga., overtook Dustin Mitchell for the lead on lap seven and turned back a late challenge from Tyler Bare to capture Saturday night's 40-lap Steel Block Bandits Dirt Late Model Challenge Series-sanctioned Commonwealth Clash at Virginia Motor Speedway. He earned $5,000 after beating Bare to the finish line by a couple car lengths.
Quotable: “My car was really good tonight,” Overton said. “I knew if I stayed out front and paced myself I would be alright. I started seeing them early and said to myself, ‘They are going to have to slide-job me to wreck me,’ and one of them about slid me. I don’t know what it was about here but it was about the roughest racing I’ve ever done in a long time, and I’m from the South.”
Key notes: Overton’s first-ever Steel Block Bandits victory was his second win since joining Bruce Kane’s Maryland-based team; he scored his first for Kane in a Crate race on May 29 at Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway. … Mitchell led laps 1-6 before fading to a ninth-place finish. … Jamie Lathroum ran as high as second on lap 26 but slipped to eighth in the final rundown. … Russell Erwin advanced quickly and ran as high as fourth before problems dropped him to 14th in the finishing order. … Series points leader Derick Quade moved into fifth on lap 36 and finished there. … The feature was slowed by 10 caution flags and lasted 56 minutes, with 12 drivers completing all 40 laps.
On the move: Brad Lowe of Knoxville, Tenn., started 24th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Overton’s Bruce Kane Racing Rocket Chassis has a Mullins engine and sponsorship from Budweiser, Jerry Foster Racing and SCM.
Points chase: After VMS: 1. Derick Quade (282); 2. Robbie Emory (269); 3. Tyler Bare (255); 4. Dan Breuer (244); 5. Jeff Parsons (226).
Current weather: Overcast, 63°F
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Dustin Mitchell
Time: 18.110 seconds
Polesitter: Dustin Mitchell
Heat race winners: Dustin Mitchell, Derick Quade, Cody Overton, Robbie Emory
Consolation race winners: Jeff Parsons, David Williams
Provisional starters: Michael Alderman, Brad Lowe
Next series race: June 16, Beckley Motor Speedway (Beckley, WV) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, C. Overton
Row 2: Quade, Emory
Row 3: Batten, Lathroum
Row 4: Robinson, Arrington
Row 5: Glanden, Lear
Row 6: Bare, Rankin
Row 7: Breuer, Archer
Row 8: Erwin, Canipe
Row 9: Parsons, Williams
Row 10: S. Bryant, Rigdon
Row 11: Arthur, Almond
Row 12: Alderman, Lowe
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information