Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/16/2024 21:07:17

Sponsor 743
June 2
C.J. Speedway,
Columbus Junction, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series (Tony Stewart Tribute) - $3,000
Information provided by: Mike Ruefer, series and track reports (last updated June 3, 5:10 am)
C.J. Speedway delivers first tour win for Stewart
Tony Stewart Tribute
  1. Derrick Stewart
  2. Chad Holladay
  3. Jeff Aikey
  4. Andy Eckrich
  5. Jason Hahne
  6. Matt Ryan
  7. Jeff Larson
  8. Charlie McKenna
  9. Jason Rauen
  10. Luke Pestka
  11. Fred Remley
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Gabe Umbarger
  14. Curt Schroeder
  15. Ron Boyse
  16. Darrel DeFrance
  17. Jay Johnson
  18. Curtis Glover
  19. Luke Goedert
  20. Brian Harris
  21. Curt Martin
  22. Mike Guldenpfennig
  23. Jonathan Brauns
  24. Kyle Krampe
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Derrick Stewart captured his first career Hoker Trucking Series victory.
What won the race: Pole-starting Derrick Stewart of Ainsworth, Iowa, held serve on a late-race restart and led all 30 laps at C.J. Speedway, winning Friday's $3,000 Tony Stewart Tribute. Stewart notched his first career Late Model victory and his first with the Hoker Trucking Series.
Quotable: “Yep, this is our first Late Model win,” Stewart said. “My year has actually been pretty good since we switched to the Capital Race Car and we’ve just been struggling late in the night and I think tonight, we really figured out that we don’t have to do a whole lot to this race car to keep it balanced. Yeah it’s cool this my first Late Model win and to do it at our home race track now. Yeah I’ve got a lot of laps around here in the last handful of years.”
Key notes: Defending series winner at C.J., fourth-starting Chad Holladay moved into the runner-up position on a lap-20 restart and finished 1.529 seconds back. ... Jeff Aikey ran as high as second before settling for third. ... Hoker Trucking Series points leader Andy Eckrich started fifth and finished fourth. ... Matt Ryan advanced two positions and finished sixth. ... Charlie McKenna and Jason Rauen each gained five spots, finishing eighth and ninth. ... Second-running Luke Goedert hit the infield berm in turn one, ending his race on lap 19. ... Friday's feature was slowed by the one incident for Goedert and lasted 15 minutes, with eight competitors completing all 30 laps.
On the move: Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., started 17th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Stewart’s Stewart & Sons-owned Capital Race Car is sponsored by B.W. Brown Inc, Midwest Frame & Axle, Huston Bros., LLC, Stewart & Sons, LTD, Arnold Motor Supply, Outlaw Cleaning, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Racing Tire, Penske Racing Shocks and Malvern Bank.
Points chase: After C.J.: 1. Andy Eckrich (1.494); 2. Chad Holladay (1,492); 3. Jeff Aikey (1,478); 4. Jason Hahne (1,462); 5. Luke Goedert (1,448).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 77°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Derrick Stewart
Time: 18.923 seconds
Polesitter: Derrick Stewart
Heat race winners: Luke Pestka, Brian Harris, Jonathan Brauns
Next series race: July 28, Marshalltown Speedway (Marshalltown, IA) $4,600
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stewart, Aikey
Row 2: Goedert, Holladay
Row 3: A. Eckrich, Hahne
Row 4: Brauns, Ryan
Row 5: Martin, Schroeder
Row 6: Pestka, Harris
Row 7: McKenna, Rauen
Row 8: Johnson, Boyse
Row 9: J. Larson, Umbarger
Row 10: Remley, D. Eckrich
Row 11: DeFrance, Glover
Row 12: Guldenpfenning, Krampe
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information