Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 00:12:41

Sponsor 743
May 27
North Georgia Speedway,
Chatsworth, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Biddle Ridley Memorial) - $10,053
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 28, 8:45 pm)
McDowell wires North Georgia's Ridley Memorial
Biddle Ridley Memorial
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Carson Ferguson
  4. Benji Hicks
  5. Sam Seawright
  6. Kenny Collins
  7. Cory Hedgecock
  8. Tyler Millwood
  9. Josh Walker
  10. Garrett Smith
  11. Eli Beets
  12. Austin Horton
  13. Haiden Cowan
  14. Corey Roulette
  15. John Ownbey
  16. David McCoy
  17. Hayden Ownbey
  18. Mike Benedum
  19. Jordy Nipper
  20. Michael Page
  21. Heath Hindman
  22. Booger Brooks
presented by
What won the race: Pole-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., fended-off mid-race challenges from Ross Bailes and cruised to win Saturday's $10,053 Biddle Ridley Memorial feature at North Georgia Speedway. McDowell earned his second Spring Nationals victory of the season and the 15th of his career, further extending his all-time series lead.
Quotable: “Shane and the boys made all the right adjustments. Qualifying was key,” McDowell said. “What a cool night. I got to watch Biddle Ridley race down here when I was a kid and watched him and Jody. (I) got to talk to Jody tonight and Bill Elliott come over by the truck ... just a lot of my childhood heroes, so it was just a cool night. It was awesome to win and honor all the Ridley family and everything they did for racing back in the day. It’s totally amazing. I’m very honored to win their event.”
Key notes: Making his 53rd career Spring Nationals start, McDowell has finished in the top-five on all but three occasions. ... Seventh-starting Bailes, of Clover, S.C., moved into the runner-up position on a lap-nine restart and finished 2.584 seconds back. ... After winning Friday's $7,553 weekend opener at I-75, Carson Ferguson finished third; the reigning series champion maintains a narrow advantage entering Sunday's Spring Nationals season finale. ... Kenny Collins and Tyler Millwood each advanced six positions, finishing sixth and eighth. … The largest incident occurred on lap eight when Carson Ferguson and Michael Page made contact while battling for second, sending Page spinning and collecting Heath Hindman; Page and Hindman were unable to continue, finishing 20th and 21st. ... Saturday's feature honored James “Biddle” Ridley of Chatsworth, Ga., a winning short track racer who had even greater success as a NASCAR crew chief for his brother, Jody Ridley. Jody was in attendance, along with several of his racing acquaintances. ... Biddle died in 2012 after a two-year battle with cancer. ... Saturday's main event was slowed by four cautions and lasted 27 minutes, with 12 competitors completing all 53 laps.
On the move: Josh Walker of Ringgold, Ga., started 16th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing Team Zero Race Car has a Clements Chevrolet engine and sponsorship from E-Z-Go, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Connected Strategy Advisors, Northeastern Fabrication, Fox Racing Shox, Campbell Insulation Specialists, Shackleford Enterprises and Spring-Pro.
Points chase: After North Georgia: 1. Carson Ferguson (1,712); 2. Ross Bailes (1,690); 3. Kenny Collins (1,628); 4. Haiden Cowan (1,590); 5. David McCoy (1,449).
Current weather: Clear, 63°F
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Dale McDowell
Time: 14.075 seconds
Polesitter: Dale McDowell
Heat race winners: Dale McDowell, Carson Ferguson, Benji Hicks, Michael Page
Consolation race winners: Mike Benedum, Eli Beets
Provisional starters: Haiden Cowan, David McCoy
Next series race: May 28, Duck River Raceway Park (Wheel, TN) $10,053
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McDowell, Ca. Ferguson
Row 2: Hicks, Page
Row 3: Hindman, Seawright
Row 4: Bailes, J. Ownbey
Row 5: Hedgecock, Brooks
Row 6: Nipper, Collins
Row 7: Smith, Millwood
Row 8: Horton, Walker
Row 9: Benedum, Beets
Row 10: H. Ownbey, Roulette
Row 11: H. Cowan, McCoy
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information