Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 01:41:41

Sponsor 743
May 26
Farmer City Raceway,
Farmer City, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 7:25 pm)
Moyer captures MARS victory at Farmer City
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. McKay Wenger
  3. Bob Gardner
  4. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  5. Mike Harrison
  6. Payton Freeman
  7. Jason Feger
  8. Rich Dawson
  9. Jake Little
  10. Shannon Babb
  11. Kye Blight
  12. Justin White
  13. Blaze Burwell
  14. Mark Voigt
  15. Roben Huffman
  16. Kevin Weaver
  17. Logan Nickerson
  18. Donny Walden
  19. Ryan Unzicker
  20. Rodney Melvin
  21. Matt Furman
  22. Kyle Hammer
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Billy Moyer waves from victory lane after his first victory for car owner Tim Lance.
What won the race: Keeping a threatening McKay Wenger at bay as he weaved through lapped traffic, sixth-starting Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., rolled to a $5,000 victory in Friday’s 40-lap MARS Late Model Championship feature at Farmer City Raceway. He finished 1.069 seconds ahead of the 10th-starting Wenger.
Quotable: “It’s been a heck of a year for us. We’ve just kept our heads down and kept plugging away and we finally got the car underneath us, kind of what we’ve been looking for finally,” said Moyer. "So just hats off to Tim that owns this stuff. And (longtime crew chief) Steve (Norris) and we’ve got a new kid helping me that just started this week. We’ve just been doing it by ourselves — Steve and myself and (girlfriend) Carla (Rayburn) — so we’ve got one more helper, and that’s helped trying to get the car prepared better this week.”
Key notes: Moyer, who won for the first time for in Tim Lance's equipment, took the lead from outside front-row starter Bob Gardner on the sixth circuit and led the remainder for his 24th career MARS triumph. … It was the 65-year-old Moyer's second victory in 27 starts this season; he also earned a $3,000 triumph on Jan. 22 at Central Arizona Speedway in Case Grande, Ariz., in a Don Shaw-owned car ... Wenger rebounded with a runner-up finish after contact with Mike Spatola in his heat. … Series points leader Ryan Unzicker retired on lap 22 after breaking a fuel pump fitting. … Pole-starting Kevin Weaver pulled off on lap 32 while running sixth. … The MARS Championship Series heads to Fairbury Speedway on Saturday before wrapping up the tripleheader holiday weekend with another $5,000-to-win event on Sunday at Spoon River Speedway.
On the move: Mike Harrison of Highland, Ill., started 12th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer's Tim Lance-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Digital Copy Systems, Karl Chevrolet Auto Group, Mesilla Valley Transportation, AccuForce, Sunoco Race Fuels, Eibach Springs, Carquest, and Jack's Auto Parts.
Points chase: After Farmer City: 1. Ryan Unzicker (401); 2. Jason Feger (400); 3. Mike Harrison (369); 4. Tommy Sheppard Jr. (336); 5. Rich Dawson (317).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: McKay Wenger
Time: 12.876 seconds
Polesitter: Kevin Weaver
Heat race winners: Payton Freeman, Ryan Unzicker, Kevin Weaver, Bob Gardner
Consolation race winners: Mark Voigt, Logan Nickerson
Next series race: May 27, Fairbury Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Weaver, Gardner
Row 2: Freeman, Unzicker
Row 3: Sheppard, Moyer
Row 4: Furman, Feger
Row 5: Dawson, Wenger
Row 6: Melvin, Harrison
Row 7: Blight, Little
Row 8: White, Babb
Row 9: Voigt, Nickerson
Row 10: Huffman, Walden
Row 11: Hammer, Burwell
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information