Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1268
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 23:33:30

Sponsor 743
May 26
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Mike Ruefer, series and track reports (last updated May 27, 7:25 pm)
Kay collects Hoker Trucking win at Davenport
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Jason Hahne
  3. Jeff Larson
  4. Jeff Aikey
  5. Chad Holladay
  6. Matt Ryan
  7. Derrick Stewart
  8. Andy Eckrich
  9. Andrew Kosiski
  10. Jesse Glenz
  11. Charlie McKenna
  12. Fred Remley
  13. Luke Goedert
  14. Joel Callahan
  15. Jake Neal
  16. Jaden Fryer
  17. Dave Eckrich
  18. Curt Schroeder
  19. Darrel DeFrance
  20. Bryan Klein
  21. Gavin Tarras
  22. Jonathan Brauns
  23. Spencer Diercks
  24. Jeff Tharp
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Justin Kay (15k) passed Jason Hahne (76) on lap 23 and never looked back, earning his first Hoker Trucking Series win of the season.
What won the race: Seventh-starting Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, stormed to a $3,000 Hoker Trucking Series victory in Friday’s holiday-weekend tripleheader opener at Davenport Speedway. He finished 2.646 seconds ahead of Jason Hahne after taking the lead on lap 23.
Quotable: “I just loving coming to Davenport here," Kay said. "The car wasn’t quite right to start with, or where I thought it was going to be, so I was a little off to start the race, but then once we got rolling I was changing what I was doing and it was getting better. (Jason) Hahne missed the bottom one time and I got next to him ... that was kinda all I really needed, I guess."
Key notes: Kay recorded his first series triumph of the season and the eighth of his career, giving him sole possession of first on the tour's all-time win list. ... Kay's tour win was the fourth of his career at Davenport Speedway, increasing his race winnings to nearly $20,000 there since 2021. … Hahne led laps 7-22 before being overtaken by Kay and finishing second. ... Modified standout Jeff Larson advanced 14 positions and finished third after winning his consolation race. ... Chad Holladay led the first six laps from the pole before fading to finish fifth. ... Jesse Glenz started 18th and finished 10th. ... Friday's feature was slowed by two cautions and lasted 15 minutes, with 18 drivers completing all 35 laps.
On the move: Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., started 17th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Kay’s MasterSbilt Race Car has a Grove Automotive powerplant and sponsorship from Mycogen Seeds, Dow, Hoker Trucking, Wyffels Corn Hybrids, Malvern Bank, Pit Crew BBQ, Wehrs Machine, Petersen Insurance, Wheatland Ag Center, Kay Farms & Elevator, Wheatland Auto Body, JR’s Place, Heinee Jo’s, Doug Nigh’s RPMs, Kay Automotive and Ricky R. Kay & Son’s Trucking.
Points chase: After Davenport: 1. Andy Eckrich (932); 2. Chad Holladay (916); 3. Jeff Aikey (912); 4. Jason Hahne (902); 5. Luke Goedert (900).
Current weather: Clear, 63°F
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Chad Holladay
Time: 14.216 seconds
Polesitter: Chad Holladay
Heat race winners: Jonathan Brauns, Fred Remley, Derrick Stewart, Jaden Fryer
Consolation race winners: Jeff Larson, Jesse Glenz
Provisional starters: Darrel DeFrance, Gavin Tarras
Next series race: May 27, Maquoketa Speedway (Maquoketa, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Holladay, Stewart
Row 2: Hahne, A. Eckrich
Row 3: Aikey, Diercks
Row 4: Kay, Brauns
Row 5: Ryan, Neal
Row 6: McKenna, Kosiski
Row 7: Goedert, D. Eckrich
Row 8: Fryer, Remley
Row 9: J. Larson, Glenz
Row 10: Callahan, Klein
Row 11: Tharp, Schroeder
Row 12: DeFrance, Tarras
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information