Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 16:18:34

Sponsor 743
November 29
Swainsboro Raceway,
Swainsboro, GA
Sanction: Independent events (Crate) (Turkey 100) - $20,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated December 1, 9:27 am)
Madden tops Davenport for Turkey 100 victory
Turkey 100
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Jonathan Davenport
  3. Ross Bailes
  4. Kyle Bronson
  5. Jordy Nipper
  6. Ronnie Johnson
  7. Michael Page
  8. Michael Brown
  9. Joshua Bishop
  10. Josh Adkins
  11. Gib Gibbons
  12. Ches Chester
  13. Brian Connor
  14. Ben Faircloth
  15. Wendell Chavous
  16. Trent Ivey
  17. Joey Coulter
  18. Cla Knight
  19. Carter Stokes
  20. Matt Henderson
  21. Jeff Smith
  22. Jason Welshan
  23. Austin Scarboro
  24. Dustin Mitchell
  25. Jeremy Faircloth
  26. Dennis Franklin
  27. John Gill
presented by
Richard Barnes
Promoter Paul Purvis presented Chris Madden with his $20,000 check.
What won the race: Polesitter Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., captured Swainsboro Raceway's 14th annual Turkey 100, surviving contact from a serious challenge by rival Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., to secure a $20,000 victory. Damage to his car's left-side door from the contact with Davenport forced Madden to climb out of the right side of his car in victory lane.
Quotable: "At the drivers' meeting, they told (lapped cars) to move to the top, but they're out there racing, too, you know," Madden said. "It's my job to get around 'em and we done the best we could do with them."
Key notes: Madden, who has 10 victories in 2014, held on when Davenport tried to slide underneath in turns one and two late in the race. Davenport's car did a 360-degree spin and a caution flew for another driver. ... Davenport took a shot at Madden in victory lane, ridiculing him for celebrating a Crate Late Model victory a little too much. ... Third-place finisher Ross Bailes led a handful of laps early before Madden went underneath exiting turn four. ... Dennis Franklin drew the race's first caution on lap 12. ... Matt Henderson spun in turn two for a yellow. ... A lap-41 yellow flew for Jason Welshan. ... Cla Knight drew the final caution on lap 81. ... Twelve drivers completed 100 laps. ... World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., was among event entrants. ... Tennessee's Henderson drove a throwback car carrying the No. H2 of former racer Duayne Hommel, whose career was cut short by injuries from a 2003 passenger-vehicle accident.
Winner's sponsors: Madden's Bloomquist Race Car had a powerplant supplied by Hendren Racing Engines and is sponsored by Century Plastics, Cushman Paint & Body, Hamrick's of Gaffney, Penske Shocks, Sweet Mfg., Hoosier Tire South, and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: Wendell Chavous of Hephzibah, Ga., is Swainsboro's 2014 Crate Late Model champion.
Car count: 62
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 14.508 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Madden
Heat race winners: Chris Madden, Ross Bailes, Gib Gibbons, Ronnie Johnson, Jonathan Davenport, Michael Brown
Consolation race winners: Ben Faircloth, Jordy Nipper, John Gill
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728