Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1268
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 23:57:22

Sponsor 743
May 20
Charleston Speedway,
Charleston, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series (Graves 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 21, 7:37 am)
Unzicker dominates MARS visit to Charleston
Graves 40
  1. Ryan Unzicker
  2. Rich Dawson
  3. Mike Harrison
  4. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  5. Rodney Melvin
  6. Billy Moyer
  7. Dillon McCowan
  8. Jake Little
  9. Josh Boller
  10. Justin White
  11. Blaze Burwell
  12. Brian Diveley
  13. Kyle Hammer
  14. Bob Gardner
  15. Jason Feger
  16. Kye Blight
  17. Mark Voigt
  18. Doug Tye
  19. Skyler Lewis
  20. Kevin Weaver
  21. Logan Nickerson
  22. Trevor Gundaker
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Ryan Unzicker on his way to a flag-to-flag MARS victory at Charleston Speedway.
What won the race: Dominating all 40 laps from the front row, reigning MARS Late Model Championship titlist Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., bagged the $5,000 victory in Saturday’s inaugural Graves 40 at Charleston Speedway. He finished ahead of Rich Dawson and Mike Harrison in the middle event of the tour's tripleheader weekend in the Land of Lincoln.
Quotable: “It’s good to be back here,” Unzicker said. “A lot of fans — you guys packed the place. I kind of wish it wouldn’t have rubbered up. It would’ve been a helluva good show.”
Key notes: Unzicker registered his sixth career MARS triumph and grabbed the circuit's points lead. ... Dawson advanced five positions to claim the runner-up spot. ... Mike Harrison gained three spots and finished third. ... Tommy Sheppard Jr. started eighth and finished fourth. ... Jason Feger, the series point leader entering the night and Friday's winner at Kankakee County Speedway, never contended and finished 15th. … Pole-starting Blaze Burwell finished 11th after getting turned around on lap seven. … The MARS weekend tripleheader concludes with Sunday’s $5,000-to-win show at Adams County Speedway.
On the move: Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., started 19th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Unzicker’s MB Customs Race Car has a Pro Power Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from RJR Transportation, Brucker Farms, Mosquito Hero, Fairbury Fastener & Supply, Larimer Cows & Calves, Absolute Home Repair & Remodeling, Gary Miller’s Classic Auto, El Paso Outdoor Center, Unzicker Equipment, Renegade Fuels and Aftershock Decals & Design, Konstruction Services, Pro Tire and Automotive, Mackinac Valley Powder Coating, Logan Smith Collectibles, Clean It Up 843 Pressure Washing Professionals, A Solution HVAC & Construction, Budda Bert, Dirtcarlift, Keyser Manufacturing, All Star performance, NAPA El Paso, Action Suspension and Varsitee Screenprinting.
Points chase: After Charleston: 1. Ryan Unzicker (294); 2. Jason Feger (279); 3. Mike Harrison (264); 4. Brandon Sheppard (215); 5. Rich Dawson (212).
Current weather: Clear, 61°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Dillon McCowan
Time: 14.488 seconds
Polesitter: Blaze Burwell
Heat race winners: Dillon McCowan, Ryan Unzicker, Blaze Burwell
Provisional starters: Doug Tye, Brian Diveley
Next series race: May 21, Adams County Speedway (Quincy, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Burwell, Unzicker
Row 2: Moyer, McCowan
Row 3: Blight, Harrison
Row 4: Dawson, Sheppard
Row 5: White, Voigt
Row 6: Little, Nickerson
Row 7: Feger, Boller
Row 8: Gundaker, Weaver
Row 9: Hammer, Gardner
Row 10: Melvin, Lewis
Row 11: Tye, Diveley
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information