Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 01:17:54

Sponsor 743
May 20
34 Raceway,
West Burlington, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (CRST Transportation Solution 50) - $15,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 22, 7:57 am)
Thornton completes Lucas Oil sweep of Iowa
CRST Transportation Solution 50
  1. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Spencer Hughes
  4. Earl Pearson Jr.
  5. Chris Simpson
  6. Hudson O'Neal
  7. Mason Zeigler
  8. Tyler Erb
  9. Jimmy Owens
  10. Max Blair
  11. Garrett Alberson
  12. Tim McCreadie
  13. Devin Moran
  14. Jonathan Davenport
  15. Daulton Wilson
  16. Boom Briggs
  17. Ross Robinson
  18. Daniel Hilsabeck
  19. Jake Timm
  20. Chad Simpson
  21. Tyler Bruening
  22. Matt Furman
  23. Spencer Diercks
  24. Rickey Frankel
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Ricky Thornton Jr. poses in victory lane after his second straight Lucas Oil Series victory Saturday at 34 Raceway.
What won the race: Pulling off the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series weekend sweep in the Hawkeye State, Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., stole the lead from Tim McCreadie on lap 18 and led the remainder of the CRST Transportation Solution 50 on Saturday 34 Raceway. He earned $15,000 for his fifth tour win of the season and ninth of his career.
Quotable: There at the beginning (McCreadie) was really better than I was, especially down in one and two,” Thornton said. “I just kind of kept my pace, just trying to keep tires under me. Once we got to traffic, that’s the downside of him being the leader — he really has to go where they’re not, and I kind of figured once he committed to the top to try and get around a couple of those guys I would just stick around the bottom.”
Key notes: Thornton's two-win weekend lifted him back atop the Lucas Oil Series point standings, overtaking sixth-place finisher Hudson O'Neal. His victory came after he pocketed $12,000 for capturing Friday’s weekend opener at 300 Raceway in Farley, Iowa, and then escaped injury in a highway accident that saw his apparel trailer break away from his motorhome and flip. ... McCreadie, who won the event in 2022, led laps 1-17 but faded to a 12th-place finish after slipping over the banking in turns one and two following a lap-38 restart. … Brandon Overton reached second on lap 39 and finished there, 1.741 seconds behind the victor. ... Spencer Hughes's third-place finish marked his first top-five run of the 2023 Lucas Oil Series. ... Earl Pearson Jr. finished fourth, matching his best Lucas Oil outing of the season. ... Eighth-starting Jonathan Davenport finished 14th after contact with Tyler Bruening on lap 41 shredded his left-rear tire. … The race's two caution flags came on lap 38 (Daulton Wilson) and lap 41 (Davenport).
On the move: Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, started 18th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Thornton’s SSI Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements engine and sponsored by Dyno One, Hoker Trucking, Certified Inspection Service, High Performance Lubricants, Big River Steel, Van Meter Insurance Group, Murty Farms, D&E Outside Services, West Side Tractor Sales, Bilstein Shocks, FK Rod Ends, Allstar Performance, Barnes Pumps, Performance Bodies, Winters Performance, Strange Oval, Accu-Force, Quickcar, Sunoco Race Fuels and Sub-Surface of Indiana.
Points chase: After 34 Raceway: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr. (2,695); 2. Hudson O’Neal (2,655); 3. Brandon Overton (2,605); 4. Tim McCreadie (2,330); 5. Devin Moran (2,265); 6. Jonathan Davenport (2,260); 7. Daulton Wilson (2,170); 8. Max Blair (2,160); 9. Tyler Erb (2,130); 10. Earl Pearson Jr. (2,125); 11. Spencer Hughes (2,035); 12. Jimmy Owens (2,020).
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Tyler Bruening
Time: 15.026 seconds
Polesitter: Tim McCreadie
Heat race winners: Tim McCreadie, Ricky Thornton Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens
Consolation race winners: Garrett Alberson
Provisional starters: Matt Furman, Rickey Frankel
Next series race: May 25, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $6,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McCreadie, Pearson Jr.
Row 2: Thornton, Owens
Row 3: Bruening, Hughes
Row 4: Overton, Davenport
Row 5: Moran, Chr. Simpson
Row 6: O'Neal, Zeigler
Row 7: Cha. Simpson, Wilson
Row 8: Blair, Hilsabeck
Row 9: Alberson, Erb
Row 10: Timm, Briggs
Row 11: Diercks, Robinson
Row 12: Furman, Frankel
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information