Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 00:39:04

Sponsor 743
May 19
Marion Center Raceway,
Marion Center, PA
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Connor Bobik Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated May 20, 8:04 am)
Gustin marches to Marion Center WoO victory
Connor Bobik Memorial
  1. Ryan Gustin
  2. Shane Clanton
  3. Brandon Sheppard
  4. Nick Hoffman
  5. Bobby Pierce
  6. Tanner English
  7. Gregg Satterlee
  8. Gordy Gundaker
  9. Chris Madden
  10. Kyle Hardy
  11. Johnny Scott
  12. Chub Frank
  13. Kyle Bronson
  14. Dennis Erb Jr.
  15. Jon Lee
  16. Logan Martin
  17. Doug Drown
  18. Brent Larson
  19. Brian Shirley
  20. Cade Dillard
  21. Alex Ferree
  22. Logan Zarin
  23. Todd Cooney
  24. John Wayne Weaver
  25. Levi Yetter
  26. Dustin Walker
  27. Michael Norris
  28. Ryan Montgomery
  29. Colton Flinner
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Ryan Gustin celebrates his $10,000 victory in Marion Center, Pa.
What won the race: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, overtook early leader Ryan Montgomery on lap seven and marched to victory in Friday's 40-lap Connor Bobik Memorial on the World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series at Marion Center Raceway. Gustin took the checkers 2.917 seconds ahead of runner-up Shane Clanton.
Quotable: "As of right now, our goal is to win this championship," said Gustin, who moved to second in the WoO points standings. "And we're getting closer. ... (Crew chief Taylon Center) is getting me figured out. Obviously it shows. This thing was on a string. One of the best cars I've driven, hands down."
Key notes: Gustin notched his third career WoO victory and third overall win of the season, adding to triumphs on Feb. 8 with the Lucas Oil Series at Florida's East Bay Raceway Park and April 15 with the Ultimate Heart of America victory at Paragon (Ind.) Speedway. ... Gustin's triumph came in his 100th career WoO start. ... A caution on lap 34 saw pole-starting Ryan Montgomery get upside down after contact with Michael Norris. ... The wreck also collected Alex Ferree, Brian Shirley, Chub Frank, Dustin Walker, Gregg Satterlee and Levi Yetter; no one was injured. ... Montgomery led the opening six laps and was credited with a 28th-place finish. ... Reigning World of Outlaws champion Dennis Erb Jr. scrapped his way to a 14th-place finish with a backup car after a valve spring broke in time trials; Erb relied upon a rare provisional after falling one spot shy of an outright transfer through the second B-main. ... Three cautions slowed the feature that lasted 32 minutes. ... Twenty-three cars finished on the lead lap. ... Drake Troutman and Rick Eckert were among those failing to qualify.
On the move: Tanner English of Benton, Ky., started 24th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Gustin’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Tri-Star Engines and Transmissions, Mahle, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, ML Performance, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Performance Bodies & Parts, Swift Springs, VP Racing Fuels, Penske Racing Shocks, Mel Hambelton Ford, Ramirez Motorsports and NightOwl Design.
Points chase: After Marion Center: 1. Chris Madden (1,346); 2. Ryan Gustin (1,338); 3. Kyle Bronson (1,320); 4. Brandon Sheppard (1,306); T5. Nick Hoffman (1,300); T5. Brian Shirley (1,300); 7. Bobby Pierce (1,288); 8. Tanner English (1,262); 9. Dennis Erb Jr. (1,234); 10. Gordy Gundaker (1,224).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 66°F
Car count: 51
Fast qualifier: Michael Norris
Time: 15.018 seconds
Polesitter: Ryan Montgomery
Heat race winners: Michael Norris, Brandon Sheppard, Gordy Gundaker, Doug Drown, Ryan Montgomery, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Chub Frank, Johnny Scott, Brent Larson
Provisional starters: Dennis Erb Jr., Todd Cooney, John Wayne Weaver, Logan Martin, Dustin Walker
Next series race: May 20, Port Royal Speedway (Port Royal, PA) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Montgomery, Norris
Row 2: Gundaker, Gustin
Row 3: Sheppard, Drown
Row 4: Ferree, Clanton
Row 5: Bronson, Shirley
Row 6: Madden, Hoffman
Row 7: Lee, Flinner
Row 8: Zarin, Pierce
Row 9: Yetter, Satterlee
Row 10: Frank, Scott
Row 11: Larson, Hardy
Row 12: Dillard, English
Row 13: Erb, Cooney
Row 14: Weaver, Martin
Row 14: Walker

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information