Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 11:53:18

Sponsor 743
May 19
Kankakee County Speedway,
Kankakee, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series (Big Daddy Scrap 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 20, 12:55 pm)
Feger grabs MARS victory at Kankakee
Big Daddy Scrap 40
  1. Jason Feger
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Logan Nickerson
  4. Mike Mataragas
  5. Kyle Hammer
  6. Mike Harrison
  7. Billy Moyer
  8. Blaze Burwell
  9. Mike Spatola
  10. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  11. Kye Blight
  12. Rich Dawson
  13. Bob Gardner
  14. Jake Little
  15. Justin White
  16. Doug Tye
  17. Scott Schmitt
  18. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  19. Mark Voigt
  20. Taylor Scheffler
  21. Kevin Weaver
  22. Chase Osterhoff
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Jason Feger (25) battles Ryan Unzicker (24) at Kankakee, Ill.
What won the race: Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., picked up his first MARS Late Model Championship Series victory of the season Friday night at Kankakee County Speedway, capturing the Big Daddy Scrap 40 for a $5,000 payday. Feger lost the lead to Kevin Weaver on the sixth lap, but went back out front upon Weaver's lap-14 mechanical difficulty and crossed the finish line 1.643 seconds ahead of runner-up Ryan Unzicker.
Quotable: “It’s hard to say what would have happened if Kevin wouldn’t have broke, but the car was really good. Last week we got our butts kicked all weekend and we worked hard this week and come back out with something to prove,” Feger said. “I can't believe the top came in like that. I thought it was gonna be all right around the tires and we’re a little too tight to be entering up there. But we made it work, and it makes up a little bit for a really bad week.”
Key notes: Feger's 16th career MARS victory came in the opener of a weekend tripleheader in the Land of Lincoln. … Hall of Famer Kevin Weaver overtook Feger for the lead on lap six but the veteran's stint out front ended on the 14th circuit when mechanical trouble eliminated him. ... Feger regained command with Weaver's departure and paced the final 26 laps; he hasn't finished worse than sixth in four MARS races this season. ... The event marked the third-ever series visit to the Kankakee, Ill., oval.
On the move: Kyle Hammer of Clinton, Ill., started 20th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Feger’s Longhorn Chassis has a Pro Power engine with sponsorship from Titan Industries, Hoker Trucking, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Digital Copy Systems, RLM Enterprises, Rosser Battery, Remtek Enterprises, Speedwerx, Cheap Cars and Griffin Signs.
Points chase: After Kankakee County: 1. Jason Feger (243); 2. Ryan Unzicker (219); 3. Brandon Sheppard (215); 4. Mike Harrison (199); 5. Frank Heckenast Jr. (178).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 61°F
Car count: 27
Polesitter: Jason Feger
Heat race winners: Kevin Weaver, Ryan Unzicker, Frank Heckenast Jr.
Consolation race winners: Mark Voigt
Next series race: May 20, Charleston Speedway (Charleston, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Feger, Unzicker
Row 2: Weaver, Mataragas
Row 3: Heckenast, Sheppard
Row 4: Osterhoff, Nickerson
Row 5: Moyer, Blight
Row 6: Schmitt, Scheffler
Row 7: Burwell, Harrison
Row 8: Gardner, Voight
Row 9: Little, Spatola
Row 10: White, Hammer
Row 11: Dawson, Tye

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information