Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/16/2024 15:42:58

Sponsor 743
November 21
Western Tech Speedway Park,
El Paso, TX
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Turkey Hunt) - $2,500
Information provided by: Speed Shift TV and other reports (last updated November 22, 10:45 am)
Moyer Jr. edges Sanders, earns $2,500 in El Paso
Turkey Hunt
  1. Billy Moyer Jr.
  2. Rodney Sanders
  3. Don Shaw
  4. R.C. Whitwell
  5. Jason Krohn
  6. Garrett Alberson
  7. Dave Deetz
  8. Bumper Jones
  9. Billy Roy Harris
  10. Dan Shepherd
  11. Sean Bray
  12. Dakota Berry
  13. Greg Jelvik
  14. Javier Zapien Jr.
  15. Jeff Whyman
  16. Nita Deetz
  17. Dean Moore
  18. Cliff Hansen
  19. Jon Ortega
  20. Mercedes Abercrombie
  21. Kyle McCutcheon
  22. Jeep Berry
presented by
What won the race: Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., went around race-long leader Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, on a restart with three laps remaining to grab $2,500 on the opening night of the Turkey Hunt. Sanders controlled most of the 25-lapper after slipping under polesitter Mercedes Abercrombie exiting turn four on the first lap, but Moyer's persisent high-side challenges on restarts finally paid off after the last of several cautions.
Quotable: "Rodney, I can't say enough, that guy could've blocked me and done all sorts of tricks, but I have a lot of respect for that guy. There's a reason he's won as many races as he as," Moyer said. "Hopefully we'll win another one tomorrow. If not, if he's around, I'll definitely give him all the room he deserves because he showed me a lot, and I really appreciate that."
Key notes: Moyer notched his 10th victory of the season. ... Sanders was going for a two-victory night after capturing the modified feature. ... Several cautions slowed the race, starting with Jonathon Ortega spinning in turn two early. ... Polesitter Mercedes Abercombie spun over the turn-one banking just past halfway. ... Dean Moore drew a caution with 10 laps remaining. ... Sean Bray stopped in turn two for a yellow after that and Dakota Berry got hung up in turn two for yet another caution. ... Kyle McCutcheon, making his Late Model debut, shredded a left-rear tire late in the race while running ninth. ... A three-car tangle involving Bray, Jeff Whyman and Dan Shepherd slowed the action after McCutcheon's departure. ... The final caution flew for a turn-three spin for Nita Deetz. ... The Turkey Hunt continues Saturday with a $3,000-to-win Late Model event.
On the move: Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., started seventh and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer Xtreme by Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Pro Power Racing Engine with sponsorship from Banner Valley Hauling, BSB Mfg., Car City, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Grow, Imperial Motors, Karl Chevrolet, Mesilla Valley Transportation, New Vision Graphics, Performance Bodies, Red Line Oil, Rockhard Powder Coating and Watters Autoland.
Points chase: Rick Ortega is the 2014 weekly points champion at El Paso Speedway Park.
Car count: 22
Polesitter: Mercedes Abercrombie
Heat race winners: Mercedes Abercrombie, Rodney Sanders, Billy Moyer Jr., Jason Krohn
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information