Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 00:53:59

Sponsor 743
May 6
Lakeside Speedway,
Kansas City, KS
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (Jayhawk Classic) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 7, 7:54 am)
Sobbing sweeps Lakeside's Jayhawk Classic
Jayhawk Classic
  1. Jesse Sobbing
  2. Tad Pospisil
  3. Justin Zeitner
  4. Andy Eckrich
  5. Dylan Sillman
  6. Luke Goedert
  7. Todd Cooney
  8. Josh Leonard
  9. Jeff Aikey
  10. J.C. Wyman
  11. Andrew Kosiski
  12. Jake Neal
  13. Matt Ryan
  14. Curt Schroeder
  15. Brian Kosiski
  16. Curtis Glover
  17. Charlie McKenna
  18. Corey Zeitner
  19. Nick Marolf
  20. Jason Hahne
  21. Chad Holladay
  22. Dave Eckrich
  23. Bill Leighton Jr.
  24. Derrick Stewart
  25. Fred Remley
  26. Zach Zeitner
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Jesse Sobbing completed a $15,000 sweep of weekend action at Lakeside.
What won the race: Tiptoeing around the extreme bottom, Jesse Sobbing of Malvern, Iowa, drove underneath Dylan Sillman on lap 33 and led the final eight laps at Lakeside Speedway, winning Saturday's $10,000 12th annual Jayhawk Classic finale. After winning Friday's $5,000 opener, Sobbing secured the weekend sweep, earning his ninth career Malvern Bank Series victory and his third with the Hoker Trucking Series. Sobbing now has sole possession of fourth on the Malvern Bank Series all-time win list.
Quotable: “I’ve raced everything, I’ve never won a $10,000-to-win race, so that’s pretty spectacular,” Sobbing said. “That Dylan Sillman, he’s been running hard. I mean he started slowing his pace, so I’m sure he got his tire pretty hot, but it was good to be able to race with him, me and him been racing all these nights so far, we’ve been right up front with him, so it’s just great to be here.”
Key notes: It took Sobbing 12 laps to erase Sillman's 4.880-second advantage and take the lead. Not only his richest payday, Sobbing's $10,000 victory is the first of his entire racing career. ... Sillman, of Alvo, Neb., led laps 12 through 32 before overdriving and slamming the turn one wall, losing debris and drawing the race's final caution; Sillman faded to finish fifth after losing his right front fender. ... Three-time Malvern Bank Series champion Tad Pospisil led twice for a total of 10 laps and finished 1.046 seconds behind Sobbing. ... In total, Saturday's feature saw four lead changes amongst four different drivers. ... Justin Zeitner moved into third on lap 35 and completed the podium. ... World of Outlaws Series regular Todd Cooney advanced nine positions and finished seventh. ... J.C. Wyman gained 16 spots and finished 10th. ... Fifth-starting Jake Neal steadily advanced to lead lap nine before fading to finish 12th. ... A huge multi-car incident triggered a 20-minute red flag when Jason Hahne spun from fourth on lap 13; Hahne's car came to rest in the outside groove at turn one entrance. Chad Holladay, Dave Eckrich and Bill Leighton Jr. had nowhere to go and piled into Hahne's parked car, ending each of their nights. ... Saturday's Jayhawk Classic finale was slowed by three separate incidents, including the 20-minute red flag for cleanup and lasted 37 minutes, with 17 drivers completing all 40 laps.
On the move: Andy Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, started 21st and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Sobbing’s Tanner Racing No. 99 is sponsored by Dirt Track Bank, Underdog Design & Drawing, Malvern Bank and Taylon Center Racing.
Points chase: After Lakeside Saturday (Malvern Bank points): 1. Jesse Sobbing (600); 2. Tad Pospisil (586); 3. Dylan Sillman (580); T4. Jake Neal (540); T4. Josh Leonard (540). After Lakeside Saturday (Hoker Trucking points): 1. Jesse Sobbing (400); 2. Tad Pospisil (392); 3. Dylan Sillman (384); 4. Andy Eckrich (374); T5. J.C. Wyman (360); T5. Josh Leonard (360).
Current weather: Clear, 84°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 17.617 seconds
Polesitter: Tad Pospisil
Heat race winners: Jeff Aikey, Luke Goedert, Corey Zeitner, Bill Leighton Jr.
Consolation race winners: Derrick Stewart, Fred Remley
Provisional starters: Andy Eckrich, Curt Schroeder, Curtis Glover, Brian Kosiski, Zach Zeitner, J.C. Wyman
Next series race: May 12, U.S. 36 Raceway (Osborn, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pospisil, Hahne
Row 2: Sillman, J. Zeitner
Row 3: Neal, C. Zeitner
Row 4: D. Eckrich, Sobbing
Row 5: Goedert, A. Kosiski
Row 6: Leonard, McKenna
Row 7: Aikey, Leighton Jr.
Row 8: Holladay, Cooney
Row 9: Stewart, Remley
Row 10: Marolf, Ryan
Row 11: A. Eckrich, Schroeder
Row 12: Glover, B. Kosiski
Row 13: Z. Zeitner, Wyman
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information