Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 23:19:09

Sponsor 743
May 6
Tyler County Speedway,
Middlebourne, WV
Sanction: Jay's Automotive United Late Model Series (Topless 50) - $5,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett, series and track reports (last updated May 10, 7:48 pm)
Hawkins steals Topless 50 victory at Tyler County
Topless 50
  1. Jacob Hawkins
  2. Jeff Smith
  3. Tyler Emory
  4. Michael Lake
  5. Kyle Thomas
  6. Ryan Montgomery
  7. Dylan Cecce
  8. Rod Conley
  9. Tyler Riggs
  10. Cody Rogers
  11. Logan Zarin
  12. Daryl Charlier
  13. Mike Benedum
  14. Braeden Dillinger
  15. Brian Baumberger
  16. Steve Weigle
  17. Josh Baldwin
  18. Jon Lee
  19. Ryan Payne
  20. Dave Stamm
presented by
Tyler Carr
Jacob Hawkins in victory lane at Tyler County after winning the 29th annual Topless 50.
What won the race: Overcoming a lap-19 incident, Jacob Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., carved his way through the field and passed race-long leader Jeff Smith on lap 48, winning Saturday's $5,000 29th annual Topless 50 feature at Tyler County Speedway. Hawkins earned his second career Jay's Automotive ULMS Series victory - his first since 2019 - with both coming at Tyler County.
Key notes: Hawkins, who restarted fourth with seven laps remaining, was forced to tag the field after spinning to avoid a crash on lap 19. ... After leading 48 laps from the pole, Smith of Dallas, N.C., settled for the runner-up position. ... Tyler Emory advanced five positions and finished third. ... Rod Conley and Cody Rogers each gained three positions, finishing eighth and 10th. ... Tyler County's Topless 50 is the second-longest tenured topless event in the country, second only to Batesville's Topless 100. ... Saturday's feature was slowed by four separate incidents (lap 1, lap 1, lap 19, and lap 43). ... Del Rougeux and RJ Dallape were offered ULMS Series provisionals, but opted not to utilize them.
On the move: Michael Lake of Uniontown, Pa., started 14th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Hawkins drives a C.J. Johnson Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by J&J Farms, Middletown Homes, Cash Cabins, Bobby Lake Motorsports, MRRI, Melvin’s Transmission, OFK and Megacorp Logistics.
Points chase: After Tyler County: 1. Jacob Hawkins (67); 2. Tyler Emory (57); 3. Jeff Smith (55); 4. Dylan Cecce (48); 5. Ryan Montgomery (46).
Current weather: Overcast, 68°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Ryan Montgomery
Time: 13.059 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Smith
Heat race winners: Ryan Montgomery, Steve Weigle, Ryan Payne
Consolation race winners: Brian Baumberger
Provisional starters: Josh Baldwin, Dave Stamm
Next series race: May 12, Lernerville Speedway (Sarver, PA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Smith, Thomas
Row 2: Weigle, Montgomery
Row 3: Hawkins, Payne
Row 4: Riggs, Emory
Row 5: Cecce, Lee
Row 6: Rod Conley, Charlier
Row 7: Rogers, Lake
Row 8: Zarin, Baumberger
Row 9: Benedum, Dillinger
Row 10: Baldwin, Stamm
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information