Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 00:37:54

Sponsor 743
May 5
Lakeside Speedway,
Kansas City, KS
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (Jayhawk Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 6, 6:18 am)
Sobbing sails to $5,000 victory at Lakeside
Jayhawk Classic
  1. Jesse Sobbing
  2. Tad Pospisil
  3. Dylan Sillman
  4. Bill Leighton Jr.
  5. Chad Holladay
  6. Derrick Stewart
  7. Zach Zeitner
  8. Brian Kosiski
  9. Andy Eckrich
  10. J.C. Wyman
  11. Charlie McKenna
  12. Josh Leonard
  13. Matt Ryan
  14. Jake Neal
  15. Luke Goedert
  16. Dave Eckrich
  17. Curt Schroeder
  18. Paul Glendenning
  19. Curtis Glover
  20. Jason Hahne
  21. Nick Marolf
  22. Brad Perdue
  23. Justin Zeitner
  24. Jeff Larson
  25. Jeff Aikey
  26. Corey Zeitner
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Jesse Sobbing emerges after his $5,000 Lakeside victory.
What won the race: Eighth-starting Jesse Sobbing of Malvern, Iowa, took the lead on the lap-20 restart and never looked back, leading the final 16 laps and winning Friday's $5,000 Jayhawk Classic opener at Lakeside Speedway. Sobbing secured his second Malvern Bank Series win of the season and the eighth of his career, along with his second career Hoker Trucking Series victory.
Quotable: “We’re two-for-two on the season, obviously it would be nice to keep it rolling,” Sobbing said. “There’s a ton of guys that can win on this deal, I mean it’s unfortunate Justin (Zeitner) broke leading, I mean that just sucks you know, because he was the one leading, so we weren’t leading until he broke. It would obviously have been nice to race with him and see if we had something for him as well.”
Key notes: Three-time Malvern Bank Series champion Tad Pospisil moved into the runner-up position on lap 31 and finished 1.959 seconds back. ... Dylan Sillman ran as high as second and briefly challenged Sobbing for the lead, before fading to finish third. ... Bill Leighton Jr. advanced five positions and finished fourth. ... Chad Holladay ran as high as second in the early laps, before settling for fifth. ... Brian Kosiski gained four spots and finished eighth. ... J.C. Wyman started 16th and finished 10th. ... Jake Neal utilized a series provisional after scratching from his heat and consolation, recovering to finish 14th. ... Second-starting Jeff Larson led the first 16 laps before overdriving the entrance and slamming the turn three wall while leading, drawing the race's second caution; Larson was unable to continue and finished 23rd. ... Justin Zeitner inherited the lead on the lap-17 restart and led until he lost an engine on lap 19, relegating him to finish 22nd. ... Friday's weekend opening feature was slowed by three cautions and lasted 20 minutes, with 15 drivers completing all 35 laps. ... The Malvern Bank West Series and Hoker Trucking East Series return to Lakeside Speedway for Saturday's $10,000-to-win, $900-to-start Jayhawk Classic weekend finale.
On the move: Zach Zeitner of Bellevue, Neb., started 18th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Sobbing’s Tanner Racing No. 99 is sponsored by Dirt Track Bank, Underdog Design & Drawing, Malvern Bank and Taylon Center Racing.
Points chase: After Lakeside Friday (Malvern Bank points): 1. Jesse Sobbing (400); T2. Tad Pospisil (390); T2. Dylan Sillman (390); 4. Bill Leighton Jr. (376); 5. Jake Neal (364). After Lakeside Friday (Hoker Trucking points): 1. Jesse Sobbing (200); 2. Tad Pospisil (196); 3. Dylan Sillman (194); 4. Bill Leighton Jr. (192); 5. Chad Holladay (190).
Current weather: Overcast, 75°F
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Dylan Sillman
Time: 17.115 seconds
Polesitter: Derrick Stewart
Heat race winners: Bill Leighton Jr., Curt Schroeder, Nick Marolf, Andy Eckrich
Consolation race winners: Jeff Aikey, Zach Zeitner
Provisional starters: Jake Neal, Luke Goedert, Corey Zeitner, Curtis Glover, Paul Glendenning, Brad Perdue
Next series race: May 6, Lakeside Speedway (Kansas City, KS) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stewart, J. Larson
Row 2: Pospisil, Hahne
Row 3: Sillman, Holladay
Row 4: Marolf, Sobbing
Row 5: Leighton Jr., A. Eckrich
Row 6: J. Zeitner, B. Kosiski
Row 7: Schroeder, D. Eckrich
Row 8: Ryan, Wyman
Row 9: Aikey, Z. Zeitner
Row 10: McKenna, Leonard
Row 11: Neal, Goedert
Row 12: C. Zeitner, Glover
Row 13: Glendenning, Perdue
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information